Con Report: Intercon L: Labyrinth

I just had an absolutely amazing weekend. Every LARP I played I loved, every character I played was a good fit for me.

Intercon opens with Pre-con, which involves panels and other similar events, such as a room for last minute costuming and a dance workshop. I attended the workshop and learned the basics of partner dancing. Looking over my Master Lists of LARPs, I can see I’ve been in maybe 4 or 5 LARPs that encouraged or directly involved some sort of partner dancing. Useful skill to practice.

Unfortunately, I didn’t make it to any of the panels this year. Shame, they would make great fodder for blog posts.

Some LARPers like to give themselves a little downtime during the convention. Not me. I had a LARP in every time slot on the schedule.

Feast of the Minotaur was set in ancient Greece, on the night before sending in human sacrifices to the labyrinth of the minotaur.

IMG_4094

A princess of Crete

Concordance Station was a sci-fi game of alien diplomacy. I love how in LARPs, sometimes it’s necessary to specify that you are, in fact, a human.

IMG_4096.JPG

a human spaceship pilot

Skies of Eladria: the Steampunk Game was, unsurprisingly, a Steampunk LARP taking place on an airship.

IMG_4100-1.JPG

my steampunk costume

Port Hidalgo was a LARP set in the Golden Age of Piracy, and contained very rich, detailed backgrounds. Us players were kept very busy.

 

429872_855031682836_34503403_37025478_845279856_n1

Yarrrr!

And lastly, Labyrinth of the Minotaur was a wacky scavenger hunt type of LARP, where players scrambled to earn pieces of a map in order to escape the minotaur. Some of the pieces were earned by coming up with creative ways to fulfill tasks to please the minotaur. Tons of fun.

IMG_4108-1.JPG

A graven image, built to please the minotaur.

 

What a great convention. Good thing I have The King’s Musketeers, a weekend long swashbuckling LARP at RPI, and LARPocalypse, Brandeis’ Festival of the LARPs coming up. Otherwise, I’d be suffering much worse post-con blues.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in Intercon and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Con Report: Intercon L: Labyrinth

  1. Pingback: SLAW LARP Reviews « FairEscape

  2. Pingback: The Siege of Troy, Part II: Mighty Aphrodite | Fair Escape

Leave a Reply

