Blog Link- An Author Visits Pre-Con

Lizzie Stark is an author who wrote Leaving Mundania, a book about LARPing (due out in May- I’ll be sure to take a look.) She visited Intercon L’s Pre-con (our event of LARP panels taking place Thursday night and Friday just before the convention itself) and wrote a blog post about it.

Here is the link to her post, “A Visit to Intercon L”.

Pity I wasn’t there Thursday night!

It always seems to catch me by surprise when things I consider perfectly standard in LARP strikes someone else as unexpected or new. Romance written into game plots- perfectly commonplace to me, unusual to her. LARPs being “short” (4 hours is the standard, to me, though I’ve heard other theater LARPers refer to the 4 hour format as a “mini-LARP”), plotted, and existing as one-shots (i.e. not part of an ongoing series of LARPs), all standard for me. Casting questionnaires and bluesheets, standard.

Makes me kind of wonder if Leaving Mundania only reflects one form of LARPing? Or maybe it reflects some versions, but not the form of theater I’m most familiar with?

I feel as though a lot of the writing on LARPing out there presents LARPing as though boffer style is the only format. A friend of mine pointed out that though my experiences have been primarily with one variation on theater style, by sheer population numbers, boffer LARPing is the standard. And a lot of theater style (i.e. Mind’s Eye style LARPing) bears more similarity to the common form of boffing than it does to my 4 hour, pre-written theater. So perhaps I shouldn’t be so surprised when the format of LARPing I consider standard seems new, even to people with a fair amount of LARPing experience. My form of theater style is actually a fringe form of LARPing. But I’m hoping Leaving Mundania at least acknowledges that other forms of LARPing exist.

Lizzie Stark also mentions our “Race in LARP” panel, which I am disappointed to have missed two years in a row. I hear it’s been fantastic both times, and it’s a subject I’ve pondered a few times myself, particularly when I was cast as a Native American in a Western LARP. (There’s a topic for a future post.)

The British contingent of LARPers also got a mention in her post. I’m rather impressed and proud of Intercon for being able to attract con-goers from so far away. It’s a new goal of mine to be one of those travelers for another convention.

Maybe Consequences? Maybe this year. Maybe next…

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I currently serve as a board member of NEIL, and as the raffle coordinator, player liaison, and proposal com chair for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US.
This entry was posted in blogs, conventions, Intercon, Pre-Con and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blog Link- An Author Visits Pre-Con

  1. Lizzie Stark says:

    Just wanted to stop by and say that my book covers a variety of larp, from boffer campaigns to theater games (although none used questionnaires or bluesheets!), to Scandinavian larp and related phenomena like military training.

    I am constantly surprised by the variety of approaches to larp in the US. It’s part of what makes the hobby so fascinating.

Leave a Reply

