Blog Link – LARP Couture

I was just introduced to LARP Couture, a blog about LARP costuming. I was only introduced to it today, but I already love it. (Turns out the friend who introduced me to it found the link on Lizzie Stark’s blog.)

I didn’t actually mean to turn this blog into something primarily about costuming- although I am mentally planning a post describing one of my favorite LARP prop projects (a bow and quiver set made of a metal closet door track and fake leather fabric intended for upholstery). However, I can’t resist sharing this link.

The LARP Couture Blog by Caroline E Willis

The tagline made me laugh, “Fabric bolt! Fabric bolt! Fabric bolt!”

There’s all kinds of exciting things to be found here, for LARPers who really like costuming. Plenty of sources of costuming inspiration. There are links to some very cool tutorials. And short pieces of research on various subjects, from Scottish kilts to plague doctor masks to blue jeans. Images that make great inspiration for costuming.

I particularly like how many of the posts contain series of links to places where one can purchase the items mentioned in the post- along with prices, for easy comparison shopping. I’ve also found a lot to keep me entertained in the “Things I Love Thursday” posts.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in blogs, costuming. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

