Mementos

Something I noticed after playing in The King’s Musketeers. After playing in a LARP I particularly enjoyed, or playing as a character I feel particularly connected with, I tend to wear bits of my costume for days afterwards. After playing as Jenny Wren in School for Young Women Specializing in the Arts of Grace and Maidenly Submission, I wore a fake pansy pinned in my hair. After Sith Lords: Rise of the Dark Side, I wore the somewhat sinister-looking earrings I’d chosen for that costume for awhile. And now, a couple of weeks after The King’s Musketeers, I’m still wearing little white flowers in my hair. These are the same ones I made for the daughter of House Tyrell costume for the LARP Game of Thrones: Blackfyre Rising. I wore them for awhile after that LARP, too.

I think maybe this is my way of maintaining a connection to something that was a one-time thing. Maybe in some small way, keeping it going. Or just keeping it with me.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in costuming, on a more personal note. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mementos

  1. Pingback: Three Follow Ups « FairEscape

Leave a Reply

