Disaster Drill

Two summers back, a hospital in NYC was looking for volunteers to play victims in a disaster drill of the biological or chemical weapon sort. They wanted to both train hospital personnel and get an idea of how long things took and what parts of the system needed streamlining.

Us volunteers gathered in bathing suits on the sidewalk. We were given cards with basic descriptions of the victims we’d be representing- gender, age, any injuries, ambulatory or non-ambulatory, and attitude (“cooperative,” “belligerent” etc.)

I wanted to try both the ambulatory and non-ambulatory runs, but most of the volunteers only wanted to do ambulatory, so I did non-ambulatory runs twice. They put me on a body board on a stretcher, and wheeled me over to a long tarp tunnel, where water was spraying. People in scary looking hazmat suits scrubbed me with little brushes then rinsed me off, and dressed me in a sterile paper gown and paper booties. Then I went back and did it again.

It felt a little like going through a car wash. I found myself singing “Workin’ at the Carwash” while waiting.

It occurred to me afterwards that the structure was very much like a hoard LARP, and the cards with the victim descriptions were just like the typical short character sheets horde characters get.

Of course, no one there thought of it as a LARP- we were asked to volunteer for a drill, not a role-playing exercise. Though I definitely think there are people out there who would consider this a LARP (whether or not the hospital knew it was running one!) I tend to think of LARPs as strictly for entertainment, but maybe this kind of thing lends credence to the idea that LARP can have more practical purposes, too. Like training and education.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Disaster Drill

  1. Totally. Simulationist exercises and LARPs tend to overlap heavily. Costumed, scripted, somebody has goals (not so much you in this case), etc. Enough that I know some LARPers/writers have done paid business doing simulation games for corporate or military interests.

  2. Pingback: Intercon M Post-Con Report Part III: Thursday at Pre-Con | FairEscape

Leave a Reply

