Head in the Clouds

This past Sunday, I was in Harvard Square in Boston, and there was some kind of fair going on. There were a couple bands playing, booths all over, and tons of jubilant people just enjoying being kind of happy and nutty.

I spotted this guy striding down the sidewalk and took a few shots on my phone.

I covet those stilts.

I’m about 5’3, and I’ve been told a few times that I probably won’t get cast as intimidating characters in LARPs due to my size. People have told me I just wouldn’t be convincing. But if I added a solid foot? …Sadly, I’d still be shorter than a handful of LARPers I know, but what an effect that would be for costuming.

I have a list of LARPing goals in my head… I’m now adding “find a good excuse to buy and wear stilts for a LARP.”

…Or borrow. Apparently, they are not cheap. The guy above has jumping stilts… I’d settle for a pair that are simply easy to walk in.

So long as I’m on the subject of stilts, a fellow LARPer just shared the following tale with me.

In an Accelerant boffer LARP, a staff member created an intimidating boss monster for his PCs to fight. He wore a spiked helmet and armor crafted from hockey gear, painted and decorated with dozens of fake candles to create little glowing spikes all over. He’s not a short guy- maybe 6’0? But wore dry-wall stilts.

Then he strode out onto a battle field with a procession of minions, made a speech about how all would kneel before him, then called “By my voice, Maim to right leg by Authority.” Forcing everyone to kneel. All of his minions then purged the kneel, and he swung a giant hammer and called Slam and Death to any minion in his way, pretty much tossing his lesser followers aside and killing them thoughtlessly as he went.

…Man. What I wouldn’t give to have seen that.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in costuming, tales and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Head in the Clouds

  1. Pingback: Stilted « FairEscape

  2. My brother has a pair of these. He wore them during a game at Intercon K… I’ll ask what he’s doing with them these days….

Leave a Reply

