And Knowing is Half the Battle

…G I Joooooe…

“Listen up, junior LARPers…”

I know I just tweeted about this, but I’m putting it here because it’s less likely to be missed.

At the start of most boffer LARPs, what with them taking place at campsites, with all the outdoors and nature and what not, there’s often some sort of list of things to be cautious about. For some reason, at Lost Eidolons, there’s always a risk of beavers and turtles. (Go figure.)

One part of the list that’s easy to mentally gloss over is the tick warnings- they always tell you to do tick checks. And I’m usually pretty lazy about it (though I do use bug spray.)

A friend of mine recently told me he pulled a bunch of ticks off of himself at a LARP… then later felt fatigued for days on end. He was diagnosed with lyme disease, which is spread by ticks. It’s treatable, but it’s still dangerous.

So remember your tick checks. (And keep an eye out for target-shaped rashes, though they don’t always show up.)

The RN who treated my friend gave him a tip- pet flea collars on each ankle.

Maybe get the right color and incorporate them into your costume?

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to And Knowing is Half the Battle

  1. Caroline says:

    ! I wish I could try that! Except I’m allergic to most anti-flea stuff :/

    Still, I’ve done enough fieldwork in my life that I know how to check myself (and friends!) for ticks, so maybe it balances out ^.^

  2. Lise F says:

    A VERY important PSA. It seems like the LARPers I know are somewhat cavalier about these things, but ticks/Lyme disease are nothing to take lightly.

Leave a Reply

