Inspiration at the Click of a Mouse

I was just poking around on tumblrs, and came across a few very cool ones that I wanted to share.

The first two very much speak to me as a costume lover. OMG that dress! and Fripperies and Fobs are full of posts of inspiring historical (and some modern) clothing. Mostly dresses, but they also have pictures of really cool shoes, accessories, coats, and more.

OMG that dress! seems to have themes over time- currently, I think there’s a black dress theme.

I found this in a cluster of outer wear posts (posted May 7th):

…and I love it. It’s a wedding coat from the 1960s, according to the tumblr. I think it looks beautiful and warm… though hard to play a boffer LARP in. Keeping warm while dressed appropriately for the genre is an interesting challenge, one I like to think about.

Fripperies and Fobs has a ton of gorgeous period dresses (as well as some shoes) it its archives, with plenty of close ups so viewers can appreciate the fine elaborate detailing of the fabrics and trim. Really great inspiration for finishing off a costume.

A couple of dresses I really loved from the archives:

Marie Antoinette costume from 1930s

I love the rich colors with bold trim details. (And those buttons down the center of the red dress!)

One advantage theater style LARPing has over boffer- we girls can wear more period accurate costuming like the ones above (guys, too, in some cases) because their weight, or unwieldy bulk, or tight bodices aren’t as much of a problem if you don’t have to run around and fight monsters in them.

I also found some tumblrs full of really cool pictures of LARPers in action, or just showing off their kick-ass costumes: Fuck Yeah LARPTumbLARPing, and LightingBolt This! What I really love about these kinds of blogs is that they’re a great counter-point to all of the LARPing in the media that only shows the really awkward looking costuming. I can point to this sort of thing and say, “see? LARPing can look really cool.”

Some favorite images from TumbLARPing:

I love the contrasting colors and use of scripture in the costume.

How cool is that mask?

And here’s an awesome bit of armor spotted on Fuck Yeah LARP:

Love the integration of spinal bones!

The image originally comes from deviantart.

And finally, LightingBolt This! has tons of images of costumes of Hollywood quality. Check out this creepy guy.

Don’t look too deep under the hood…

As it says in the description of the tumblr, “So this is what ‘Real Larp’ looks like.” Yes, yes it is. And it’s awesome.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in blogs, costuming, media. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inspiration at the Click of a Mouse

  1. Lise F says:

    I just went and added all those blogs on Tumblr 🙂

Leave a Reply

