Boffer Practice and LARP Art

In keeping with my goal of improving my boffer skills, I had my second boffer practice today. I got there later than I intended, so that cut into practice time a bit, but since it was pretty hot today, later was probably better. Even as the evening cooled off into night, I was still sweating pretty hard through practice. We spent most of our time with two swords, and a little while with one. We have no shields to practice with, but I’m thinking about looking into changing that. Maybe I can find someone to borrow a shield from so I can give it a serious try and decide whether or not I want my next boffer character to be a “sword and board” type, as they call it.  People tell me my lack of height would be an advantage with a shield, since it would cover a fairly large percentage of my target-able surface. (Plus, as I like to mention, it would be so much fun to decorate.) And my arms get tired anyway.

The LARPer training me says I’m improving; honestly, I don’t see it. I think maybe he’s just trying to be encouraging. But Rome wasn’t built in a day and all that.

In other news, this morning I finished a little art project. A few friends of mine play in Numina, “a high fantasy game of exploration, conflict, and intrigue.” Their characters are all the anthropomorphic animal types (a couple of bears, an otter, and a wolf), so they wanted to make a short storybook for their character histories (with inspiration from the Redwall series) and asked me to illustrate it. Once they’ve scanned the pictures, hopefully I’ll get a chance to share some of the pictures on this blog. While I drew, my friend took out my sewing machine (Mr. Sew-and-Sew) and finished off some lightweight costuming (it’s supposed to be really hot in Virginia this weekend.)

And lastly, this weekend is the Lost Eidolons Summer Tavern Night, which I’m quite looking forward to. I’ve yet to attend a between-events-event. Should be fun!

Oh, and so long as I’m on the topic of Redwall…. LOGALOGALOGALOGALLLOOOGGGG!!! (Could not resist.)

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in arts 'n crafts, boffer. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Boffer Practice and LARP Art

  1. Lise F says:

    Where do you go for boffer practice, anyway?

  2. Fair Escape says:

    His apartment, in the driveway/backyard.

  3. Pingback: Once Upon a Time in Rues « FairEscape

  4. Shash says:

    To improve you need more than just bash one another. Also – what people tell you is a bit false. Yes you are at an advantage since the shield will cover most of you…But someone so small has NO business with a big shield in the thick of it. Chances of you getting hurt are big, since you can’t back all that with armour and well, mass. If you have the hand eye coordination – try sword and dagger, or sabre and dagger. If you lack it like myself – get a short spear.

    • Fair Escape says:

      I’d like to think we’re doing a bit more than bashing at one another- he’s actually quite good, and gives me guidance and sometimes does drills. Also, I’m smaller than the average boffer LARPer, but not quite that tiny- I’m 5’3 (the average American woman is between 5’4 and 5’5) and about average weight. I’ve tried a bit of sword and shield since then and haven’t gotten hurt- is it possible you’re thinking of a different combat system? We practice with the Accelerant system- meaning very padded weapons (not the realistic latex looking ones) and lightest-touch.

Leave a Reply

