Tavern Night

I spent the past weekend in Camelot, the geek-friendly cohousing community, in order to attend a Tavern Night for Lost Eidolons. It’s a between-events event- there’s no real combat (although I did see a few people practicing), but people show up in costume, bring food, and hang around discussing plot for an evening. It sort of helps keep momentum and excitement about the LARP going during the slow season. (I heard one LARP writer say he likes these sorts of things so much, that he once crafted a LARP entirely out of between-events events.)

Before the Tavern Night, I spent much of my time in Camelot’s Commonhouse, playing board games and card games. It brought me right back to my college days, where us geeks would collect in common rooms or attend our sci-fi and/or gaming club events to hang out and indulge our geeky hobbies. (This is also where I was watching SCAdians train for combat at Pennsic.) I admit I’ve been daydreaming about living there. I’m a LARPer who loves surprising non-LARPers by wandering about in public in my costumes, sometimes with my boffer weapons, but it says something great about Camelot’s community that nobody batted an eye at my steampunk outfit or furry ears and tail.

The Tavern Night itself was my first such between-events event. About half the town, I’d guess, showed up. It was pretty relaxed- we hung around on couches and discussed saving the world. A few of us who became ghouls at the last event (myself included) received the mechanics for our new undead state (which were very interesting, but I think, overall, a step down in power) and held a meeting to discuss plans for the near future.

There was also the newest edition of our in-game newspaper, which I thought was a great way for the staff to introduce topics of discussion and encourage roleplaying. I saw a few NPCs wander about and hold private conversations with various characters. And we all got together to get everyone up to speed on various new developments, as well as pool together our resources and see about making sure everyone was as well-equipped as possible. I may be acquiring a new life-saving tool which emulates a defibrillator, which is pretty cool. I’m looking forward to crafting a prop.

I did notice that other characters seemed to have a lot more to discuss privately with others than I did. I even fell asleep at one point on the couch.  I thought about why that might be, and I think my character is very reactive. She doesn’t chase down her own plot very much- she mostly just tags along whenever something interesting pops up in her face. It’s something to think about for creating my next character. I hope having an information skill or two might help, as well as careful in-character record-keeping.

Only two weekends left for Lost Eidolons. They sound like they’re shaping up to be epic.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in boffer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

