Coming Soon

Went to a party last weekend, lots of boffer LARPers were there. The host had an extensive and enviable workshop in his basement, which he uses to create boffer weapons, shields, and other LARP props (I saw the mold for a really cool monster mask).

There were a few spare boffer weapons lying about. A few party goers were off sparring, and a handful of little girls (I’d guess between the ages of 5 and 10?) joined in the fun. They can be vicious! But I see why the notion of running LARPs for children seems to be gaining popularity.

Some upcoming events I’m excited about:

NELCO, the New England LARP Conference, is in a week and a half, and the schedule is up. There’s some really fascinating looking stuff planned, and my only gripe is that there are a bunch of panels conflicting with each other and I wish I could be in multiple places at once to see them all. I’ve got to see if I can convince people attending the ones I miss to take notes or provide a recording or something. Maybe get the panelists to show me their materials.

I’m particularly excited about the panels on Game Wraps and Combat Bubbles, since I think they’re fairly basic, straightforward topics (others are much more abstract), and the panels could really generate some practical, concrete solutions to some very real problems that plague theater LARPing.

– I’ve signed up for both LARPs at Dia de Los Sobres Dos. I’ve heard a lot of great things about Folding the River, and A Garden of Forking Paths sounds unlike any LARP I’ve played so far, and I’m always eager to try new things in LARP. ..Which reminds me, I should have filled out both questionnaires by now.

MIT’s Assassin’s Guild is running a seminar called So You Want to be a GM, all about how to write and run LARPs. I’m bummed I can’t make it, but if anyone reading this is attending, I’d love to hear all about their experiences at it.

Parting Thought: I’ve seen fireworks 4 times for Independence Day celebrations. Fireworks are awesome and should be incorporated into LARPs, if possible.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in boffer, conventions, theater/parlor and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coming Soon

  1. JakeG says:

    Ditto the fireworks! I’d love to see more of them once in a while. Seeing a bright white flare (I think it must have been a magnesium flare) go off on the other side of town, lighting up half the campsite for a few seconds to indicate that a special magical gate had been activated completely blew my mind. It was one of those moments that completely bypassed my “Real Life” brain.

Leave a Reply

