“Dead Dog”

Idiot/Savant’s comment on the origin of the phrase “Dead Dog” prompted me to do a quick online search to see what I could find out.

First of all, Urbandictionary.com had two definitions for “dead dog” – both of which were “a dog that is not alive.” Will someone please explain to me why someone thinks that is slang.

I gave both entries a thumbs down.

Dead-dog, with the hyphen, was defined as some kind of modifier that means “very” as in “dead-dog tired”. I’ve heard of “dog tired”. Maybe they’re related.

Searching on google was thoroughly unpleasant, but I did spot the term on Wikipedia’s entry on science fiction conventions. It mentions dead dog parties that happen at the end of the convention, which allow tired con-goers to unwind. I guess they’re all dead-dog tired by that point?

So now  it’s been borrowed over from sci-fi con slang into LARP slang to mean the event at the end… though I find  LARP Dead Dogs to usually be pretty animated.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in terminology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Dead Dog”

  1. And here I’ll provide conflicting evidence (well, anecdote): I was told that they were called “dead dogs” after theater post-production/cast parties, which mostly involved people lying around being dead-dog tired.

    • Fair Escape says:

      I’m not sure I’d call it conflicting… I bet it’s just another step back along the evolution of the term. Sci-fi cons probably got it from theater. (Or vice versa, though somehow that seems less likely to me.)

Leave a Reply

