Labyrinth of Sharon

I went for a walk at Lake Massapaog this week. It’s a very pretty spot in Sharon, Massachusetts. There’s a tiny park by the lake that was built relatively recently called Beech Tree Park (dedicated in 2006.) It hosts concerts every other Sunday.

I don’t know if it’s because the theme of the past Intercon was Labyrinth (and I played in two labyrinth themed LARPs) or if I just always have LARPing on the brain, but my first thought on seeing it was “this would make a nice spot for a small LARP.”

There’s something somewhat mystical about the labyrinth. The trees frame the spot very nicely, and there are benches, and there are little tables (with built in chess boards) and a gazebo which would make a good spot for GMs to hand out character packets.

It’s a bit more public than the last spot I shared– it’s visible from the road, but I’m not too shy to LARP in public, even in weird costumes. (Though there’s no reason the LARP couldn’t be a modern one that looks mundane to passers-by.)
In other news, Cottington Woods (the dark fairy tale themed boffer campaign that will be starting next year) just put up a rule book, and I’m having a great time reading through the headers. I thought I’d be able to narrow down my character concept once I saw the skills, but I still just cannot decide. I have to avoid trying to multiclass too much, since this LARP seems designed to encourage specialization. I guess I’ll see what other people are playing at the event this Sunday, which is both a play test and a fundraiser. Can’t wait!

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in boffer, LARP toys and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

