Time Bubble LARP Reviews

I just downloaded the flyer for Time Bubble. It’s a weekend of LARPs at RPI (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, in Troy, NY). Actually, it’s pretty similar to WPI’s SLAW, as mentioned in my previous post. It’s a low-key, fun event, with a bunch of shorter, typically lighter LARPs. This year it’s happening Oct. 5 through Oct. 7.

Looking over the schedule of LARPs, I see I’ve played 6 out of 9. And like SLAW, I’d be traveling out to RPI for the whole weekend if I wanted to play any Friday or Saturday games… and it’s a lot longer of a trip to upstate NY. Which leaves me with similar options as for SLAW- I could go and just hang around when I have no LARPs to play, or offer to aGM. It looks like they have the space for another small LARP or two, so I could also bid something simple. I’ve often thought about running Triple Blind, a LARP written by Mike Young that involves generating characters by randomly combining various options- it seems straightforward, easy to run, and I’ve heard it’s fun to play.

Or I could just skip the event… though I hate to miss an opportunity to see cool LARPing people in Troy that I otherwise don’t get to see enough.
While I muse that over, I figure I might as well do what I did for SLAW- post short reviews of the LARPs I’ve played. Hopefully, it will help someone decide to attend Time Bubble, or decide which games to sign up for.
Tryst and A Midsummer Night’s Dream and the Livin’s Easy are both running at SLAW and brief reviews can be found in my aforementioned post.

The Barbecue was the LARP written at NELCO for the BYOG (Build Your Own Game) project. A longer description of my experience can be found towards the end of my NELCO review post, but the description on the Time Bubble website gives a very accurate description. “This is a character-driven drama, lightly plotted with no magic or supernatural elements… Mature themes.” All real-life situations, down-to-earth problems, mostly inter-personal issues. Remarkably well done, considering it was written by new writers in one weekend. Recommended for fans of this genre.

To Kill a Vampire I played at a Festival of the LARPs back in 2008. If I recall correctly, it was a basic fantasy setting, with fun character concepts, plus that item-building mechanic that I love (which is also seen in Skies of Eladria). Characters could brew potions by combining ingredients in ways such that their keywords, written on the bottom of the item cards, create a sentence which describes the desired effect. There were a few neat twists, mechanics, and props (including some wanted posters) that I liked a lot.

Plan 8 from Outer Space involved a group of 8 LARPers pretending to be non-Earthlings at a business meeting, arguing over whose fault a recent disaster with contacting earth was. It was a lot of improvising, insulting one another, and mocking corporate culture. Tons of fun for LARPers who want to be silly for a couple hours.

A Fungal Coronation is a LARP set in the universe of the Super Mario Brothers, which held high appeal to me for reasons of nostalgia. The LARP is very cute and entertaining- it’s a fun take on the video games. There were a couple of minor issues when I played (some characters seemed a bit more important than others, and I think the combat mechanics needed a bit of smoothing out) but the GMs were very open to feedback, so I think it will be even better for it’s second run.

Plus, ya know, I got a picture of me on the back of a Yoshi. Awesome.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in conventions, LARP Reviews, theater/parlor and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time Bubble LARP Reviews

  1. Amazingly, I’ve only played in three of the games–You’ll Never Drink Blood…, MAE, and Midsummer. Some of them are just old standbys (like Plan 8) that I’ve never managed to play; a couple are newer.

    I am probably most excited about To Kill a Vampire. I’ve been wanting to play in it for a while, but the timing has never worked. Unfortunately, it’s also up against the few LARPs I haven’t played >.<

  2. Fair Escape says:

    Yeah, I sometimes feel like I’ve played all of the old standbys (does that mean I’ve been around this community too long?)

    TKaV was fun- I wouldn’t be surprised if you ended up playing the character I played.

Leave a Reply

