Blog Link: Propnomicon

I’ve stumbled onto a blog dedicated to Call of Cthulu props. I’m having fun scrolling through the archives of Propnomicon (tagline “Curious devices, forbidden artifacts, mysterious creatures, and intriguing documents”), and poking through the various links to find out what else the artists have done. Some of them have interesting facts on materials and methods. Very inspiring, especially if you like the Lovecraftian genre.

Cthulu is strangely popular in LARPing- a fair number of LARPs I’ve heard of and played in have him (or something thematically very similar) getting summoned. I’m actually not Cthulu’s biggest fan (though I do love the Lovecraftian horror of Lost Eidolons), but I do love a well crafted prop or costume, and a lot of this could easily turn up in other settings with archeology, or cults, or dark magic…

The prop that drew me in was this Illuminated LARP weaponry seen here. The stone actually resembles a stone, but is soft and squishy and lights up. I think that would be great for Accelerant style boffer weapons- they’re round sponginess could always use a little help looking a little less goofy while still adhering to the high standards for safety. (Looking over the artist’s deviantart page indicates it took him a very long time to figure out how to do this, and that he seems unlikely to share his methods… but it’s still encouraging to know that it can be done!)

I actually found this blog while researching ways to hold boffer weaponry on my character’s back, (while making it easy to draw and replace and incorporating it well into the look of my costume.) I’m thinking velcro might be involved. Also, I might be spending a bit too much time planning a costume for Cottington Woods.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in arts 'n crafts, blogs, boffer, LARP toys and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

