More Things to Share

A few more LARPs just went up on the Intercon M website. Terribly exciting. One LARP in particular currently has my interest- Grimm Tales: Coyote’s Tail. I’ve played in one of the Grimm Tales series before- The Immortal Jade Court. I was Aponibolinayen, the bride of the Sun of Philippine mythology. It was low plot, heavy flavor. To me, the experience was more about spending 4 hours being these mythological beings than anything else.

Dressed in a sari in honor of the Jade Court.

The blurb and website for Coyote’s Tail seems to indicate it’s primarily a story-telling LARP (not the sort where people break off into smaller LARPs-within-the-LARP, but the sort where people sit around and tell stories.) Generally not my favorite style of LARP (though I admit I’ve really only played one of that sort so far)- however, it does say that story telling is not the only thing going on (plus these characters are bound to have great stories.)

But really? I’ve read over the list of characters and it’s the costuming opportunities that have me drooling. (Pardon the icky imagery.) Anansi, Reynard, Aladdin, Maui, Puss in Boots… so many characters I’d love to create a look for. Even if I don’t end up playing, I must be sure to stop by gamespace and check out what other people came up with for costuming.

On an unrelated topic, this nifty light bulb was spotted on thinkgeek.com. It’s remote controlled, and has adjustable colors, brightness, and effects… Very cool. Brian R. found a similar one on amazon, cheaper and more watts, similar capabilities.

A lot of LARPs like to use colored lighting. In Stars of Al-Ashtara, it was very deliberate- lighting was used to indicate the time of night (which was relevant for mechanics.) In Orgia ad Domus Lomaximus (a LARP set in ancient Rome) lighting is used more subtly to create space and alter the appearance of the room. More subtle and still very effective. (Haven’t played Orgia, but I have seen the set… it’s amazing.)

I think this kind of bulb would be a great investment for people who run LARPs (it would be pretty cool for boffer LARPs too- it would go a long way towards setting the stage for different modules, especially if they take place in a handful of buildings that need to represent a wide variety of environments.)

And lastly, I hear there may be an article on Intercon in a major newspaper soon… I’ll be sure to share it here when I see it.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in Intercon, LARP toys. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More Things to Share

  1. Pingback: It’s Time to Light the Lights « FairEscape

Leave a Reply

