You Know You’re a LARPer When…

…you go through old bags and find they’re all full of random LARPing papers from various LARPs over the years.

I was recently looking for a fancy little purse to use for a wedding.

Lest anyone reading this think I’m super girly, I actually don’t buy many little purses… I swipe them from my mother and sister when I need them for LARPs or fancy events. Though I do have a few bags that I made out of scrap costuming material and hot glue just to blend into my costuming for individual LARPs.

I can tell I’m the only one using these little pocketbooks… because whenever I pull one out, I find it’s full of old index cards… abilities and items and nametags of characters gone by.

Not to mention the odd spell packets found in my suitcases and under the bed while looking for a purse. That’s another mark of the life of a LARPer.

(Side note for the gentlemen reading this: I have a rule about purses. Yes, I will carry whatever you like in them for you, your wallet, your keys, your camera, your folded up character sheets and index cards and little costuming props. However, once I carry an item for you, you forfeit the right to make fun of any girl, ever, for carrying any kind of purse.)

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in on a more personal note and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

