Cottington Woods Costuming IV- Design Sketches

The Cottington Woods costume is coming along… I thought the individual pieces of the design were so simple (nothing fitted or tailored, no darts, no buttons…) that it would be relatively quick to complete, but I underestimated how time consuming this would be.

Went back to Joann Fabrics for more fabric and notions- more of the lined linen fabric, lining for the hood, closures, gold fabric and stuffing for the key. The hooded capelet is now nearly complete, and the red lining, a last minute decision, looks nice. (We ended up using the top half of a robe pattern for a Star Wars/Lord of the Rings sort of costume pattern- Simplicity 5840.) Next up, the wind-up key and the black sash for the waist.

In the meantime, I recently found a clipboard of mine, chock full of old doodles and notes taken during a table-top RPG. Among the doodles were more old design sketches for my Cottington Woods character, which I thought I’d share while working on the next update for my costuming series.

So I took a bunch more photos with my phone. And then remembered, only after uploading them, that I had access to a scanner and could have scanned them. …Oops. Oh, well.

The doodle on the left in the image above is meant to be the warm weather version, i.e. all the extra layers shucked off, with the most visually memorable piece- the vest with the benediction written on it- still on.

Close up of the image on the right. The Truth mask still looks a bit sinister to me.

By the way, I’ve received official confirmation from staff that this character will, in fact, be a wind-up doll brought to life. I’m strangely nervous about playing this- I don’t want her to be a one-note, personality-lacking cliche. I expect one of my last posts for this series on creating the costume will involve trying to get the make-up right.

I’ve also been busy planning a few props for my character, including a leather bound journal that I can record events and draw in during downtime. I bought one at Barnes and Noble, and now I’m trying to familiarize myself with the artwork and calligraphy of illuminated manuscripts, such as the Book of Kells, so I can try to give a general impression of it in the journal. (Forcing yourself to use a handwriting other than your own is rather difficult! As is drawing Celtic knots.)

I also found the inner part of a music box (it plays “Fur Elise”) ages ago, and it’s been sitting in a drawer, waiting for an art project since then. It seems too perfect for a wind-up doll to not include it somehow… I’m just not sure how yet. It’s too little to actually be part of the wind-up key, though that would be a cool way to represent refreshing her golem armor, wouldn’t it? Actually turning a key on her back and hearing the tinny music as you do?

Cottington Woods Costuming I

Cottington Woods Costuming II

Cottington Woods Costuming III

Cottington Woods Costuming V

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in arts 'n crafts, costuming. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cottington Woods Costuming IV- Design Sketches

  1. JakeG says:

    I think you’ve really succeeded at creating a design which is “priestly” without appearing derivative of any particular style or tradition. I also dig the “Truth” mask; it adds a flair of righteous menace. Maybe she wears it only when facing something blasphemous?

  2. Pingback: Cottington Woods Costuming V – The Devil’s in the Details « FairEscape

  3. Pingback: Cottington Wood Costuming Part I – Concept and Design | FairEscape

  4. Pingback: Cottington Woods Costuming Part II – Fabric and Patterns | FairEscape

  5. Pingback: Cottington Woods Costuming III – The Basics | FairEscape

Leave a Reply

