Path of Pin(terest)s

I was about to open this post with some thoughts on past casting in theater LARPs of the Western genre, then follow that up with thoughts on the casting I’ve just received for Once Upon a Time in Tombstone… but then I remembered the casting came along with the request that we not share any information, at all, at least until our character sheets come out. I don’t 100% agree with all GMing policies, however, I do believe in respecting GMs’ requests. So I’ll hold off on posting about plans for this specific costume and instead talk about my newfound interest, Pinterest.

I tend to hold off on joining social websites until I start to feel like I’m missing out on something. I joined livejournal well after all my friends did, and only to see some pictures that were “friends only.” My friends had facebook accounts well before I did. Twitter’s been big for years, but I’ve been using it less than a year. Still don’t have a tumblr (though I’m starting to get why people like using it.) I didn’t really get Pinterest until this past week.

Usually, when I start planning a costume, I begin with a basic online search, and then just start browsing the pictures, looking for trends and things I like. Then, I use this terribly inefficient method of starting an email, pasting urls into the email, and just saving it as a draft. You can’t see the images by just looking at the emails, and usually I don’t bother describing what the links are… so in order to see what I’ve saved, I have to go back and copy and paste the urls one by one into the address bar. Sometimes I don’t bother putting anything into the subject lines of the email drafts, so it can be a pain to go back through them looking for something specific.

Pinterest is pretty much the perfect alternative to my backwards email method. It’s like the inspiration boards that fashion designers use, right? I just pin the stuff I like with a quick click and sort them into boards… and then I can see all the images I liked at once, along with any little thoughts I care to add about each. Plus it’s easy to go back to the original website where I found the things I pinned. I debated back and forth before opening my Pinterest account… do I really need yet another account on some trendy social network site? I feel like once it’s gotten to the point where I don’t know if this cute thing I want to share is best shared on a blog, facebook, twitter, or what… it’s gotten a little too ridiculous. (And getting teased about Pinterest being popular among much older women didn’t help.) But now that I’ve got an account, I love it. I’ve already got a board for my Cottington Woods costume (although it’s a little late in the process for it) and a board for a cosplay idea I had (Toph from Avatar, The Last Airbender) and a board for costuming inspiration in general… and my newest one is for Once Upon a Time in Tombstone. It made it so easy for me to share my vision with my mother. (Who seemed excited until I told her how soon the LARP was, and then she wanted to know if I couldn’t just wear my old costume for this character type.)

Plus, I found a few places where people had pinned stuff from this blog, which I admit, I found kinda flattering… and then I started looking through some boards other people had created for costuming inspiration… and that was just so cool. The coolest costumes, all gathered together for my viewing pleasure.

So… Pinterest! My newest fun toy for costuming planning.

http://pinterest.com/fairescape/

(If you’re playing in this Once Upon a Time in Tombstone… don’t peek. I debated about not sharing the link, but it seemed silly to go on about Pinterest and then not share my boards for anyone who might be curious. But looking at the board for Tombstone will make what sort of character I’m playing dead obvious. …Honestly, I don’t know if anyone reading this is playing, and if they are, how likely they are to care enough not to click… but out of respect for the GMs, I’m saying it anyway.)

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in costuming, LARP toys and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

