The Measure of Quill

I made a lot of mistakes with Taz, my Lost Eidolons character, and while I love playing her, I put a lot of thought into how I was going to learn from all of them and do my next character right. Then I got suddenly dragged into Endgame last minute and needed help creating a character. Sunshine, my special little dippy hippy, was the result. I like playing Sunshine a lot, too, but I repeated a lot of the mistakes I made with Taz and made some new ones.

I’m determined to make Quill right. Third time is the charm, right? I’m curious to see how she stacks up with my list for creating a memorable character. (Which, for the record, is not the same as creating a rich character with a lot of depth and nuance.)

1. Be big.

This one is just not going to happen- I’m not going to LARP in platforms, stilts (well, not for a boffer PC for an entire campaign) or even heels. Quill actually got called “little” by two other PCs in game. She’s been called an “almost life-sized doll” which, ok, I find pretty amusing. (Though I will state for the record that the average American woman is around 5’4, and I’m only one inch shy of that. Plus my costume is a little bulky.)

2. Have an outrageous costume

I certainly wouldn’t call my costume “outrageous”, though I do like how it came out. People seemed to notice the creepy eyes, the big shiny gold wind-up key on her back, and the writing on the vest. So it might have been memorable?

3. Unpopular Options

There were a good number of priests about, but the staff kept the number of golem (artificial construct, like Pinocchio) characters allowed very low, and Quill is one of them. That’s something.

4. Show up regularly

Technically, I have a record of 100% attendance, though that’s hardly meaningful with only one play-test and one one-day event so far.

5. Be powerful

Well, I am at the max CP and it’s mostly spent on combat stuff. Though I’m still pretty poor at boffer combat.

6. Plot Coupons (aka Information skills)

They haven’t been used yet, but my current build has one — Research.

7.  Be loud.

Quill is pretty quiet, actually. She rarely knows what to say.

8. Be stupid.

I wouldn’t call Quill stupid, but her blank-slate nature makes her pretty naive and a little out of touch. She has yet to do anything truly stupid, but give her time.

9. Be weird.

I meant to pepper my speech with more religious phrases, but mostly forgot. Quill’s movements are meant to be oddly slow and jerky, though I haven’t kept that up consistently enough for anyone to notice… I’m not sure people would notice even if I did. (It’s more for me to feel in character, anyway.) And I don’t want to flat-out move like a robot. Quill stares at people with her big black eyes (it’s kind of remarkable how this doesn’t feel awkward for me when I’m in character, though I suspect it’s a little awkward for the subjects of her stare), but I think unless someone is in the process of being stared at, it’s not particularly noticable or memorable.

10. Be evil.

I’m not going to directly comment on this one, though as far as anyone knows, she’s somewhere between neutral and good.

Hm. Taz scores a solid 1 out of 10 on this, Sunshine is maybe a 3… Quill scores somewhere between a 4 and a 7 or 8, depending on how generously I credit her in the various categories. Step in the right direction!

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in boffer, on a more personal note. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

