Accoutrements of a Steampunk Devil

As this weekend is the conclusion of the Lost Eidolons saga, I’ve just put together a new wearable prop and fixed up an old one.

At the Tavern Night (a between game event where there’s no real plot or boffer fighting, but people can come in costume and hang out in character), we discussed preparations for the escalating situation in our town of Greyhook, and decided any one who was capable of using a device one of our mechanics invented that’s essentially a steampunk defibrillator would receive one. (We’re expecting to get killed and need to be revived a fair amount.) That includes my character Taz, who has the doctor header. (Though she’s more of a field medic in practice.) So I had to create a phys-rep for the device. Another character has a glove with a steampunk design for his steampunk defibrillator, which is nice because it’s easy to carry around in that form.

…Mine is a bit more… crude than his, since I’m only using it for one weekend (and I haven’t actually confirmed that I’m receiving one of my own). I picked up some gardening gloves at the dollar store, glued on some brown felt left over from my Cottington Woods tree-costume project, and then glued on some copper and gold colored cogs.

That’s what  steampunk is, right? Neutral and metallic color schemes with cogs?

The old prop I fixed up is Taz’s artificial ear. A while back, there was a plot involving her being kidnapped by cultists. They cut off an ear and sent it to her friends, nailed to a piece of wood with a threatening note.  (Actually a black costume cat ear with fake blood dribbled around it.) Awesome, right? After that, I wore only one ear to one event, and then received a replacement- a mechanical prosthetic ear that allowed her to hear whispers from the beyond. So I created a steampunk Tasmanian Devil ear and wore it clipped to a hairband.

I made the ear from fake brown leather (upholstery material), copper colored paper fasteners, mini-cogs, and zip ties that I painted with copper-colored ink (for the grill). I stuck a light up pink push-pin inside the ear to make it glow. (The battery seems to have just died. Dammit.)

These are some shots taken when I first made it (before the light and mini-cogs were added.)

For awhile, it was clipped to a gold colored hairband, which worked fine but it stood out against my hair. Now I have it stuck on a black hairband, which should blend in better.

Side note- I used a low-heat hot glue gun this time. I don’t know if this will alter how well the prop holds up to the rigors of boffer LARPing? But I will say I have glue on my fingers and no burns. Low-heat glue guns are really great for klutzy costumers, like me.

I’m currently looking over some pictures taken by a photographer at the last event, and I’m really hoping they’ll be back for the finale. I’d love to get some good shots of Taz before her story comes to an end, especially now that her costuming has been fixed up a bit.

On to Greyhook, once more!

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in arts 'n crafts, boffer, costuming and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Accoutrements of a Steampunk Devil

  1. Pingback: From Depths | FairEscape

Leave a Reply

