The Internet, She’s Full of LARP

I created this blog because I was frequently scouring the internet and finding little to read. A lot of stuff wasn’t really looking into the depth of the hobby. I’ve seen the generic tips for cold weather LARPing… which is almost always pretty much for generic cold weather sports and not specific to LARPing… so many times. (And sadly, I may have my own version up soon.)

But actually, thanks to this blog, I’ve discovered a lot of stuff out there on the internet. Through people sharing links in the comments, profiles of people who followed my tweets, checking out places where links to this blog popped up… I found a bunch of other blogs and articles and forums. So I’d call this blog successful, in a way I didn’t expect.

Here’s some of the stuff I’ve recently found. Some of them I’ve been pouring through; some of them I’ve just skimmed a bit.

How To LARP – A blog dedicated to Live Action Roleplay and the People Who Love it

The Turku Manifesto– Near as I can tell, it’s a philosophy on LARPing that puts a particularly strong emphasis immersion. Kind of fascinating, even if you don’t buy into it. They have a Vow of LARPing Chastity. (Not that kind of chastity.)

Buskador’s LARP – Another blog. This one has some cool how-tos for making LARP weapons. (Not Accelerant style boffers, unfortunately.)

Diary of a Croatian LARPer – A blog about LARP and the Croatian LARP scene

LARPBook – News, Commentary and Ideas for LARP fans.

My so-called larp: learning to love in a world without men – An in depth article about the Nordic LARP recently run here in the U.S. It was called Mad About the Boy and it was based on Y: The Last Man. I heard from someone who went that it was an amazing experience.

RolePlay Magazine – A kickstarter for a magazine about LARPs.

Larp Girl – Another tumblr. She shares photos and youtube videos through it.

Larpcast – A podcast about all things Live-Action Roleplaying. (This one’s about boffer LARPing.) I’ve listened to ’em all.

Diatribe – A forum for the New Zealand live action role playing community. I lurk there occasionally. (Someday, I’d like to try actually LARPing in New Zealand. It’s one of my LARPing goals.)

US LARP Wiki – Still in its very early stages.

The Costumer’s Guide  to Movie Costumes – Really great resource for costuming inspiration. For some LARP costumes, I find a movie that has the right look, then go through this website for idea. It’s particularly great because it often has the best shots from the movie, and shots from all angles and close ups from exhibits.

Dr. LARP – Embiggening the hobby of LARP. Another blog. With a Simpsons reference in the tagline. Nice.

Tara Clapper’s articles on examiner.com – A bunch of short articles on LARPing.

Maybe I should have broken this up a bit more, but anyway, now you know what I’ve been poking through.

For those who have shared links with me – thanks! Keep ’em coming!

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in blogs, media. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Internet, She’s Full of LARP

  1. Buskador says:

    Indeed it is! You never know what you might find. For example Im currently swapping stories with folks from LARP Turkey.

  2. Ivan Zalac says:

    Thanks for the mention (about Diary of a Croatian larper) 🙂
    I actually had the similar experience in the last year and a half that I’ve been running my blog. This is a good list. I’ll add a few more 🙂

    http://www.larping.org – a blog with goals to connect the larping community on the web
    http://wrathfullarper.blogspot.com – a blog by a World of Darkness player
    http://norper.wordpress.com – a blog by a Nordic larper
    http://www.larpcast.com – a blog mostly about LarpCraft and the above mentioned upcoming RolePlay magazine (not the same larpcast as you were listening to)
    http://lizziestark.com – Lizzie Stark wrote the larp book “Leaving Mundania” and in fact ran that “Mad About the Boy” larp you mentioned above
    http://www.nordiclarpwiki.org – Nordic larp wiki

    Plus, a couple of more larp sites which I know but they’re not in English… And Facebook pages.

    A bit about the Turku Manifesto, to put things into context. It is a product of the theory which basically sorts all larpers into three groups depending on what they want from larp: gamists, dramatists and immersionists. Gamists are primarily there to solve challenges and achieve goals for their characters. Dramatists or narrativists care about the story, and would sacrifice themselves if it would make the more dramatic story. Immersionists would primarily care about allowing themselves to experience things. Most players fall somewhere in between.

    In Nordic art larp, gamism is the “wrong way” (even though it’s most commonly encountered in the mainstream larp). Dramatists were the first to get their manifesto and vow of chastity, Dogma 99 – which is quite strict: http://fate.laiv.org/dogme99/en/dogma99_en.htm

    Turku manifesto is an immersionist response to Dogma 99. Equally strict, mutually exclusive because it promotes a different style, and even more provocative. Both are, I think, fascinating examples of what larp can be…

    • Fair Escape says:

      I’ve run into GNS theory a bunch of times… One of these days, I might post about it, if I can do it without the ruffling the feathers of those who are a bit more fond of it than I am.

      I mostly skimmed the Turku Manifesto- it seems pretty militantly pro-immersion to the exclusion of all else, which seems like something worth experimenting with (though not really something I’d actually subscribe to.) I’m looking forward to reading the dramatist version- thank you for the link!

      Also, thank you for the other links. A few I’ve run into before, but some are definitely new to me and I’m looking forward to browsing them.

  3. Someday, I’d like to try actually LARPing in New Zealand. It’s one of my LARPing goals.

    I recommend Chimera (website not updated from last year yet). Yes, its only half the size of Intercon (we only have 4 million people here), but its probably the best place to get a feel for what sort of stuff gets run around here.

Leave a Reply

