I’m on a Boat

I just spotted this picture, which has been circulating around the internet:

I’m not sure if it’s real, but a brief search indicates it’s the Piscine Molitor pool showing the film Life of Pi (whose main character was named for the pool.) Some people are claiming it’s photoshopped. Real or not, it’s an innovative way to enhance the audience’s experience, which of course made me think about LARPing in water.

Thus far, my LARPing has had little to nothing to do with water. All of the boffer LARPing I’ve done at campsites have excluded the use of their lakes and pools. (I’m assuming our contracts with the summer camps forbid it for safety reasons… or else would add on unreasonable expense in the form of extra insurance and licensed life guards.) Kind of pity- I think it might be neat to do a short module where the PCs meet mermaids or something. Maybe a non-combat module in boats. Or an entire theater LARP played out on a large boat rented out for the evening. I actually used to work on tourist boats that circled around Boston Harbor. We hosted bachelor parties and such from time to time… why not a theater LARP? It’d be expensive, but very cool. Maybe a spy/James Bond themed LARP, and the boat is some evil millionaires yacht. Or maybe some kind of LARP about the survivors of a ship wreck, played out on a few row boats floating out on a lake. That’s probably much more feasible for reasons of price alone.

It’s not that this sort of thing doesn’t exist- I’ve heard of a boffer fight that went on in a pool and required players to attack some giant floaty pool toy. Possibly one waving pool noodle tentacles or some such. There’s also a theater style LARP series called Prawn. They run from time to time at Intercon, and so help me, one of these years I’ll get into a run.

It’d be interesting to see what kind of effect water- either floating on it or swimming through it- would have on immersion. I suspect it’s very effective. Maybe the classic theater LARP Mary Celeste, which takes place on the doomed ship (and operates under the premise that all of the wild theories on why she disappeared are true), could actually run on a boat?

Just some speculation and daydreaming here.

 

In other news, the second round of Intercon sign-ups happened today. I’m now in two of my top choices (Osiris’ Gate, the Egyptian after-life themed LARP, and Serpent’s Spiral, the LARP set during the Irish Uprising.), thanks to a little system gaming. (I dropped last week’s choice and chose another LARP that seemed likely to fill faster, then re-signed up for the dropped LARP the moment the second round started. Good thing, too, because the second LARP filled in the blink of an eye.) All of my other top choices for the various time slots are still open, which is encouraging. Next week, I pounce on as many games as my schedule will allow for the weekend!

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in conventions, Intercon, LARP toys, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m on a Boat

  1. Ivan Zalac says:

    We did two events this summer with a few boffer combat scenarios at the Dobra river in Croatia. It was quite fun. “Capture the raft” was quite popular. Here are the photos:
    https://plus.google.com/photos/101896846381509742512/albums/5777513612770118113?banner=pwa

    These are the only water larps I know of, I’ve actually been thinking about running a boat larp (my family has a boat on the sea coast), I might even do that one day when I come up with a good enough scenario…

Leave a Reply

