Preemptive Costuming

As many of my friends- especially the ones I play tabletop RPGs with- know, I’m something of a compulsive doodler.  (And when I have LARPs on the brain (which of course, I do, what with Intercon sign-ups underway), I tend to doodle tons of costume designs.

I recognize that this is fairly ridiculous. I haven’t even signed up for all my LARPs, let alone gotten cast, so working on costume design is pretty silly. But at least I’ve been resisting the urge to actually start on the costuming.

Before casting, my costuming designs are typically pretty generic versions of the types of characters I either expect to be cast as, or what I’d most like to be cast as. For Osiris’ Gate, I suspect many of the characters will be wealthy ancient Egyptians (though some may be servants, priests, soldiers, or even gods), and I’d really like an excuse to wear one of those big Egyptian beaded collars. And for The Great War Upon Us, the one shot from the Roman inspired boffer campaign, Invictus, I’d love to play some kind of legionnaire or gladiator.

I’ve also got a theater campaign LARP coming up. It’s called To Be Continued, and it’s a mash up of tons of popular geek fandoms, with various famous characters in teenage form, attending one of several schools. We all bid a few of our favorite characters, and the GMs cast us from our lists. I’m really excited to be playing Arya Stark, of A Song of Ice and Fire/Game of Thrones. My costume is going to consist of a basic fantasy-style men’s shirt, winter boots, a gray cloak with a fur collar, a Stark keychain repurposed as a brooch, and some fake braids to try and mimic her hairstyle from the tv show. I’ve already ordered a small prop sword to serve as Needle. (Fingers crossed this alternate version of Arya still has her sword, otherwise it’ll be a bit of waste. I suppose could have waited to get her character description, but I was worried the prop would take too long to get here in time for the first event if I didn’t order it soon.)

And lastly, I went to see The Nutcracker in Boston this past Sunday, and it was utterly amazing. There’s a scene in the beginning where the toymaker Herr Drosselmeyer is showing off some of his marvelous dancing toys, one of which is a dancing doll. This of course reminded me of Quill, my character from Cottington Woods. I’m hoping that at some point, the LARP will include some kind of dance, maybe a harvest festival or a masquerade ball of some sort. I suspect Quill would be likely to wear whatever outfit she was dressed in before she came to life- because that and her priestly garb is pretty much all she owns. And since it she was originally designed as a little girl’s dancing toy, she probably wore something ridiculously ruffly and pink with big bows and all that nonsense. (Though pink is really not my color.) I’m having fun looking up ballet costumes for inspiration.

 

…I’ve even got Pinterest boards for all of these costumes.

Tomorrow, Intercon opens for sign-ups- as many as you can snag before they fill! Fingers crossed I get into The Great War Upon Us, among others. Our membership continues to grow, but luckily, there’s a ton of new games that have been added to the schedule.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in costuming and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

