Intercon M Roster

We’re at 387 con-goers. That’s a bit crazy- last year was under 330, so it’s a relatively huge increase. I was a bit worried that we’d have a huge flood of sign-ups when the third round opened this past Thursday, and I’d get shut out of all the remaining LARPs I wanted to play. But happily, that didn’t happen, thanks (at least in part) to the record number of LARPs we have going on this year. I think our current plan of renting hotel suites to run more LARPs in is working out.

In fact, I got top choices across the board, which makes me super happy.

I’ve got 6 LARPs on my schedule. Not bad. I actually briefly considered choosing my LARPs so that I could get the max of 10 LARPs. I have something of a “gotta catch ’em all” attitude towards LARPing. But that involved picking LARPs that were shorter over LARPs that I wanted to play more and also would involve missing the dance on Saturday night.  (And cutting back on sleep, but let’s be honest- I never prioritize sleep over LARPing.)

Friday – Serpent’s Spiral. The unique setting (the Easter Uprising, with hints of supernatural elements) combined with it being unlikely to run outside of Intercon made me jump on it.

Saturday morning- Triple Blind then The Great War Upon Us. Triple Blind is a LARP that involves generating randomized characters with three variables each- base character, cover identity, and secret group. I’ve been meaning to try out Triple Blind for a long time, since it seems like it would be really easy to run and can be replayed (and even the GM can play if they want to.) Maybe something to bid for smaller cons that need another game. I’ve heard it’s good but can be inadvertently wacky. The fact that it starts a bit later than most Saturday morning games was a considerable draw for me. (We should totally have more 1 hour and 2 hour options throughout the whole con.)

As for The Great War Upon Us, I’m super thrilled about getting into that one. It’s a one-shot introduction for the upcoming boffer campaign LARP, Invictus. It’s running twice at Intercon- I got into the later run.

I’m a little surprised and disappointed that the other run of The Great War Upon Us, and Senate Chambers (the non-combat follow-up) don’t seem to be filling. I’d hate for the GMs to come away from this thinking, “there’s just no audience for boffer LARPs at Intercon.” At least Oracle of Amun, which is from the Shadows of Amun boffer campaign, filled. I’d sign up for Senate Chambers if it wasn’t running against other games I’m dying to play.

I just really want to play a gladiator or a legionnaire.

Saturday afternoon, I’ve signed up for Osiris’ Gate, which is set in the Egyptian afterlife. I’m extremely excited for this one.

Saturday evening, I signed up for Second Dawn. It seems like it’s from a genre I don’t typically jump for, but the game has a lot of great players and I’ve really liked these authors in the past.

Sunday, I couldn’t decide between an Iron GM game and G.I. Joe: Metamorphosis. I think the Iron GM contest is really awesome and serves a very important purpose in our community (producing small, easy to run LARPs for anyone to run) and I want to support it and take a risk and get something random to play. I also heard good things about last year’s G.I. Joe LARP. But I’m actually not at all familiar with G.I. Joe… so once again, I dithered until the decision was made for me, then took one of the last slots in the later Iron GM games.

So excited for Intercon M! And it’s less than 3 months off… Wow. Time to get some casting questionnaires going, right?

Can I start costuming yet?

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in conventions, Intercon. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Intercon M Roster

  1. Ivan Zalac says:

    If I got it right, Intercon is a sort of convention which runs larps – there are no presentations or panels, just games, correct?

    We’re preparing the first larp convention in Croatia on the first weekend of March (I’ll be helping out with that). Probably with mixed program (presentations, discussions, theory, demos, games), and we’re expecting some 100-200 attendees.

    The Iron GM thing sounds awesome. I think it’s a brilliant idea.

    • Chad Bergeron says:

      There are presentations and panels, but they are all done on the thursday night and friday day of the convention weekend. Many years of experimenting led us to find that, at least for our convention, it worked better to separate the out like that than to try to mix them together in the schedule.

      • Ivan Zalac says:

        We actually also found this approach working well with gaming conventions. Larps in a convention format are rather a new thing here as it started last year – I think only five were ever made so far (not including various demos and non-serious stuff) and only 2 of those are replayable. We don’t have much variety right now, but I think we’ll give it a good go – we do have a lot of people interesting in doing presentations and demos though. We’ll see how it goes then.

Leave a Reply

