Arya Underfoot

This upcoming Sunday is the first event of TBC, a campaign theater LARP where the characters are all taken from various popular geek fandoms. I’m going to be playing an alternate version of Arya Stark of George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire.

A couple days ago, I picked up a couple of hairbands.

They’re made of braided fake hair. My plan was to cut the ends, and then pin them to a bun (of my real hair) to try and recreate the hairdo worn by Maisie Williams in the first season of HBO’s Game of Thrones.

Essentially, a bun with two braids hanging down.

Before I cut them, I tried one on. I expected it to look pretty fake and tacky, especially since the shade was slightly off. But actually… it wasn’t bad. In fact, it kind of created an easy instant-medieval-looking hairdo. This would have been immensely useful back when my hair was much shorter and the only thing I could do was try to pin it all up to hide the lack of length.

Pardon the shabby picture- it was taken in a streaky mirror.

I’m sure this fake braid is no revelation to most people, but somehow, to me it is. It’s such a quick, easy way to create an appropriate look for fantasy LARPs.

At any rate, I’ve already cut the two I have, and tried out Arya’s hairstyle, just to see how it will look for TBC.

The tips need to be fixed a bit, but otherwise… Not bad, considering it’s nothing but a simple bun and two braids sticking out. It kind of evokes the general look of the character. Can’t wait to wear it with the costume and props.

Actually, I had a basic outfit planned out with a generic white poofy sleeved fantasy shirt and plain brown pants. It does generally resemble Arya Stark’s clothing from the HBO series… but then I spotted something on “A Game of Clothes” (a tumblr dedicated to sharing modern fashion that could work for characters from Game of Thrones.) Searching for Arya Stark turned up some cool stuff. But this is my favorite.

It really does look like something an older Arya might wear, and the fact that it’s also modern really works for the setting of the LARP (where people from all different settings- modern, fantasy, sci-fi, etc.- are coming together.) I think I’m going to go pick up some new leggings and socks and reconfigure the costume. Hopefully, I’ll have some shots of the original costume and the new version for comparison.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in costuming and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

