Brandeis’ Festival of the LARPs – Triskaidekafestival

Every April, Brandeis University hosts its annual Festival of the LARPs. It’s a free weekend of LARPing, and this year the theme is Triskaidekafestival. The Con Chair says a bunch of great LARPs have already been bid, but they could still really use some more.

So come join us Friday, April 12 to Sunday, April 14, 2013 at Brandeis University in Waltham, MA. And consider bidding a LARP! Bid any LARP you’ve run before, or if  you’ve got a new LARP you’d like to try out, Festival is a great place to do it. You can also run someone else’s LARP- there are a bunch of great free ones online.

This post has a bunch of suggestions for LARPs you can bid and run. And I’m going to add two more to the list here, LARPs I’ve been hoping someone will run so that I can play once before running them myself:

Death of the Japanese Emperor is a free 2 hour LARP written by Ivan Zalac, a Croatian LARPer, and has a kind of prisoner’s dilemma aspect to it. Read more information on its first three runs here. I’m really hoping someone will run it so I can play.

Similarly, I’d love a chance to play in The Black Hart of Camelot, an Arthurian LARP from New Zealander LARPer Ryan Paddy, for 24 players. This one would cost $9 to buy the rights. The link contains some reviews, if you’re curious.

If you’re interested in bidding a LARP, just go to the Festival website and click the link to fill out the bid form. It will probably take you five minutes or less. And come play a few LARPs for free with us! You can register for the con at the website.

If you have any suggestions for free or low cost LARPs for others to run at Festival, please share in the comments below! Even if you can’t run it yourself, we’re always looking for cool new LARPs to run.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in conventions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

