Intercon M Projects

It’s three weeks to go until Intercon, my favorite weekend of the year. Earlier today, thanks to all the snow here in New England, we held our final concom meeting via online video chat. I’ve got all of my casting (save one, but I already know how the character will dress), so last week I went shopping for supplies, and now I’ve got costuming in full swing, along with a couple other projects for the con. I thought I’d share a few preview shots.

Serpent’s Spiral Costuming

Infantry shirt and fabric for puttees

My character is a British soldier from 1916, so I’ve been looking at WWI era uniforms for inspiration. I stopped by an army navy surplus store in Boston (they’re so much fun to wander around!) and picked up a shirt. I plan to sew on some brass buttons, pick up some brown leather belts to wear across my chest and around my waist, and make puttees to wear around my lower legs, just like this guy. I still really need a hat to hide my hair.

The Great War Upon Us Costuming

Materials for a Roman-esque costume

This is the LARP I haven’t been cast in yet, but we pretty much got to pick our characters’ cultures and roles, and I’m going for a warrior from Illara (the Roman themed province.)

Hopefully, it’ll look something like this.

Osiris’ Gate Costuming

Materials for an Egyptian costume, a beaded collar, and the start of a vulture headdress.

In this LARP, set in the ancient Egyptian afterlife, I was cast as Hatshepsut, one of the most successful female pharaohs. I’m trying to create a costume out of white fabric with a blue sash, and a vulture headdress out of foam and gold spray paint. We’ll see if it works. I ordered a beaded collar from Egypt, which is proving fun to wear.

Second Dawn Costuming

My costuming hint for this post-Apocalyptic sci-fi is “a traveler in white, with ties to the sea” and the website says, “white, flowing, utopian”. I think this fits right into the “crystal spires and togas” aesthetic. I haven’t actually started it, but I’m thinking another chiton, like my Across the Sea of Stars costume. Maybe with a veil of some sort.

Devil to Pay Pirate Flags

Yo ho ho! Hoist the Jolly Roger!

Lovers and Madmen, the LARP writing team, has asked me to create a dozen pirate flags for their new LARP, Devil to Pay. So far, I’ve done Stede Bonnet’s, Calico Jack Rackham’s, Richard Worley’s, Black Sam Bellamy’s and Charles Vane’s. I’m using the same basic technique I used for the Venezia and Cracks in the Orb banners– fabric on fabric with iron-on adhesive.

All that, and I have a bunch of posters to make for the convention itself. The list got a bit longer this year. Better start that soon!

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in arts 'n crafts, conventions, costuming, Intercon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Intercon M Projects

  1. Aaron says:

    Cool! I’m envious. Since my wife and I are flying in, our costuming has to be relatively light and simple, or we pay extra baggage fees. This is another reason why I chose more modern larps for Intercon M, so I can wear street clothes. But the shopping and sewing has started here, too!

    • Fair Escape says:

      It’s definitely a luxury to be able to drive to the con, and not worry about baggage fees and dragging suitcases around airports. If I’d really wanted to, I could have used the same basic outfit for The Great War Upon Us, Osiris’ Gate, and Second Dawn, but I couldn’t resist the opportunity to create something unique for each one. At least Triple Blind and the Iron GM LARPs don’t require costuming, otherwise I’d need multiple giant duffles to pack.

      Feel free to share any images of projects in progress, by the way!

  2. Pingback: Intercon P-rep – Fair Escape

  3. Pingback: Calling the Banners | Fair Escape

Leave a Reply

