Float Like a Butterfly

This past week I worked on a lot of costuming… and had three minor disasters in a row. The first was that the fabric I picked for my Roman costume. It turned out to be way too stiff- the tunic ended up looking like a potato sack pillow case. I need to start that over from scratch- more fabric shopping. Fortunately, it’s literally two hemmed rectangles pinned together, with two gold buttons sewn on, so it’s not a huge setback, but it is annoying.

Then I decided I could make some kind of top for my Hatshepsut costume for Osiris’ Gate, without a pattern. I tried twice, and both attempts were hot messes. The second attempt could potentially work, but only with a lot of safety pins and a prayer, and I’m not keen on the idea of having a costume that may take an hour or two to pin into a decent shape while trying to minimize the risk of a wardrobe malfunction. I wasted a bunch of the fabric in the process, so that also gets added back onto the fabric shopping list.

Predictably, I found it to be a discouraging start to the week, especially since I’d convinced myself that my pharaoh get-up was going to be my stand-out costume for this year’s Intercon. So I went to an art store, picked up some bright markers and poster boards, and took a break from sewing to color some posters for Intercon. This year’s theme is Metamorphosis. Following the lead of the website and t-shirt art, I festooned the posters with caterpillars, cocoons and butterflies. They’re fun to draw.

Here’s a little preview, why not.

 

 

The week ended on a slightly higher note for costuming. I found another army navy surplus store in the Boston area. It’s much smaller than the one I went to last week, but it was much cheaper, with more used gear and less surplus gear. I found a great garrison cap to hide my hair for my 1916 British soldier costume in Serpent’s Spiral. I’ll have to remember to type up a quick review of both stores for a future post. They’re great resources for costuming.

In other news, the GI Joe LARPs running on Sunday at Intercon were looking for one last player, so against my better judgement, I signed up for one of them. This brings my total count of Intercon LARPs to seven. Eight if I get in off the wait-list of the zombie LARP, Day’s End. Not that I need more zombie themed nightmares. (World War Z bears the dubious honor of being the only book I’ve ever started and refused to finish.)

And I’ve been cast as Snake Eyes, the good guy ninja who cannot speak. I’m actually really excited about this. Not only is the costume easy and fun (basic ninja in all black) but I’ve actually really wanted to try a mute character for a long time. From time to time, the question “would you be willing to play a character who cannot speak?” pops up on casting questionnaires. I think I usually put yes,  but this is the first time I’ve been cast as such.

Additionally, a LARP at Harvard’s convention, Vericon, needed a replacement player, so at the end of March, I’ll be taking on the role of Michael, chief of the Archangels in Be Not Afraid, and I’m pretty excited about it. (And if you’ve found this blog because you’re a PC at that LARP… hi!)

And tomorrow, I’m off to RPI for Dice Bubble. I have three theater LARPs to play, Bank of the Damned, an amnesia LARP, The Worst Story Ever Told, a Biblical LARP, and The Devil’s Brood, a LARP based on The Lion in Winter. I have not been cast yet for the last one, but I’m guessing I will play a female and a generic medieval outfit will suffice.

It occurs to me, having signed up for Bank of the Damned, that I should consider playing more amnesia LARPs.

They’re ridiculously easy to prep for, aren’t they.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in arts 'n crafts, conventions, costuming, Intercon, theater/parlor and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Float Like a Butterfly

  1. Chad Bergeron says:

    Pretty!

  2. Tony says:

    Hi back at you!

Leave a Reply

