Awesome.

With 9 days to go until Intercon (8 until Pre-Con,) my character sheets are finally starting to trickle in. I’ve read over my Serpent’s Spiral character sheet, and I love it. I’m very excited to play that LARP.

I also got my character sheet for Be Not Afraid, (the LARP running at Vericon, not Intercon), today, and it’s a rather fascinating character. Be Not Afraid should be fun.

And just now, I received my character sheet for Snakes Eyes, the ninja, for G.I. Joe: Metamorphosis. My character sheet opens as follows:

“You are awesome.

You are the most amazingly cool character in the entire G.I. Joe universe.”

I think that may be the best opening to a character sheet I’ve ever seen. (The excerpt from some actual erotic fan fiction of Lt. Uhura in the shower that opened up my Slash! character sheet comes a close second.) I have a vague suspicion that they all open this way,  but that’s really ok.

Incidentally, despite Snake Eyes being mute, Scarlett (one of the female members of the G.I. Joes) has the uncanny ability to understand Snake Eyes. This is represented mechanically by… me being allowed to talk to Scarlett. Hm. I wonder if this will negate the novelty of playing a mute character. I’m envisioning some kind of Lassie-like situation. “Scarlett, Shipwreck just fell down a well.” “What’s that, Snake Eyes? You say Shipwreck fell down a well?”

And coincidentally, while my brother was flipping channels earlier this week, the movie version of G.I. Joe popped up. So I asked him, “which one is Joe?”

…Apparently, there’s no character named Joe. They’re all Joes. This blew my mind. I clearly have to do my homework and watch a few episodes before Intercon. (Technically, the second movie has Bruce Willis playing someone named Joe, but the LARP is explicitly based on the cartoon.)

Now I have to get back to coloring Intercon posters. Two more to go.

YO JOE!

EDIT: I just found out Ray Park played Snake Eyes in the movie! This just gets better and better!

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in Intercon and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Awesome.

  1. With 9 days to go until Intercon (8 until Pre-Con,) my character sheets are finally starting to trickle in.

    Youch. The accepted target (which is frequently observed in the breach, but a target nonetheless) here is one month.

    • Fair Escape says:

      That’s generally the target here for costuming hints. But even those are sometimes late, and it would be nice to be able to have more time to go over some of the longer and more complex sheets. Sheets seem particularly late this year, but I’m also signed up for a bunch of new LARPs or LARPs that are being heavily edited. Those tend to be more last minute.

      Speaking of the devil, I just got one more.

Leave a Reply

