A Doll Went A-Walkin’ on a Cold Winter’s Day…

On Fridays, I volunteer in Boston. But this past Friday, it was snowing pretty hard in the morning, so the shelter decided to give out all the meals as to-go boxes and closed early. And public transportation was moving slow enough that I missed it entirely. I typically like to take a walk in the Boston Public Gardens after volunteering, if I have time before catching the T then my bus. And I figured, I had extra time and I’d been wanting to get some shots of the Gardens with snow.

George Washington

Snowman Sentry

“Make way for ducklings!”

Then I realized that the snowfall would make a great background for some pictures of my Cottington Woods character, Quill the wind-up doll turned priest. So when I got home, I put on my costume and went out to find a nice spot for pictures.

I had to rush a bit on my makeup and hair, since the light was poor to begin with (it was extremely overcast) and I didn’t want it to get any darker. I was also missing various details, like gloves and jewelry and the key for her back, and I’m still playing around with the makeup trying to get it to look as dolly-like as possible. Despite all these regrets, I still had a great time and I think a few photos came out well.

              

I actually was wearing my silly bloomers under the skirt. I meant to get a picture with them peeking out… oh, well. Next time!

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in costuming and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Doll Went A-Walkin’ on a Cold Winter’s Day…

  1. Tony V says:

    Amazing pictures!
    (though I’m biased, as Red Gold and Black are my favorite colors)

  2. storyspoiler says:

    These are awesome! (this is Betsy, by the way, who is totes stalking your blog)

  3. Pingback: For Auld Lang Syne 2013 | FairEscape

Leave a Reply

