Festival Eve

I realize I haven’t spoken much about Festival of the LARPs, Brandeis University’s annual LARPing weekend. This year’s theme: Triskaidekafestival, in honor of the year and possibly also in honor of Festival running during the 13th of April (which is this Saturday.)

I’ve just gotten in off the wait-list of one LARP, bringing my total to five LARPs at this convention. A quick run-down:

On Friday night, I will be playing in Devil to Pay, Lovers and Madmen’s most recent LARP. It  has a  dark historical pirate flavor, and I’m extremely excited. I really loved reading my character sheet, which luckily came out a few weeks ago, as it’s quite long and detailed. My new pirate coat is packed and ready to go. Yo ho!

Saturday morning, I will be playing in Dying of the Light, the winner of the 2013 Iron GM contest at Intercon. (I played in another Iron GM entry, AGENT Bobo of the Resistance.) I don’t know much about it, other than it will involve stuffed animals, time travel, and secret organizations, as those were the secret ingredients of the contest. While typing up this entry, I received an email announcing that we should receive casting within the next hour or so.

Saturday afternoon, I am playing a maid in High Tea, an Edwardian LARP that I’ve heard takes inspiration from Downton Abbey. I’m quite happy to be playing in this LARP, as I love Downton Abbey. I rather like my character, though I confess I had been hoping to play the character inspired by the Dowager Countess. She can cut apart the best of them while remaining perfectly proper.

Saturday evening, I am playing Serenity Wheeler in Yu-Gi-Oh, the Abridged Series: the LARP, aka YGOTAL. I have a passing familiarity with the original anime series, and somewhat less familiarity with the parody videos on youtube. I’ve heard this LARP is a lot of wacky fun, but the real reason I signed up is that the GM is a very cool person I’ve known from LARPing at RPI, and I’m very happy to see him running his LARPs at Brandeis. Tellingly, he sent around prank emails to his cast, saying “you’ve been cast as Ash Ketchum!” I was actually quite happy thinking I was going to play the main character from Pokemon, until I realized the email had gone out on April Fools Day. Aw, phooey.

And lastly, on Sunday, I will be playing a crotchety elderly woman in Paranoid and Crotchety‘s The All Crotchety Old Folks with Shotguns Game. We are promised that it is just what it sounds like. I’ve heard it’s hilarious. I expect I will be shaking my fist and trying to get people off my lawn.

And when that’s all over, it will be time to get the last of my preparation done for the first weekend event of the fairy tale campaign boffer LARP, Cottington Woods, which happens one short week after Festival. The character generator is finally online, and I’m working out my character build for Quill, my wind-up doll turned priest. Very exciting!

…Aaaand I’ve just gotten my Dying of the Light character sheets, and I think this LARP is gonna be a doozy.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in conventions, theater/parlor and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

