Cottington Projects

With the first weekend event of Cottington Woods just around the bend, I’ve been spending some time on a few different projects. One is a donation that the staff would like kept secret for now, but the rest are various props and costuming pieces for my character, Quill the wind-up doll turned priest.

As you can see, I have a brand new wind-up key for my back. Bit smaller and stiffer than the old one, which was gold fabric stuffed with batting. I spotted a green flocked butterfly and decided the lower wings made just the right shape for the key. I cut off the larger wings and the bit of body at the bottom and spray-painted it gold, then glued on a cardboard tube and some kind of crafting material not unlike buckram.

A flocked butterfly…

…becomes a wind-up key.

I’ve also redone my Truth scarf, because the old one was cut wrong. (The word “Truth” was too high up and not comfortably over my mouth.) This time, I think I’ve made the letters a bit too small… so who knows. I may try it a third time, when the weather gets cold again for the fall events.

I’ve also crafted two hearts- one made of cogs and gears, broken in half, and one with a gold Celtic knot over a base that glows in the dark and black string so it will look sewn in place.

Two hearts.

And lastly, I’ve expanded the benediction written on the vest. I’m adding a bit more for each event, as though Quill is writing it as time goes on.

And now I’ve got to send in my final character build, but I can’t decide if I want to use two swords or a sword and shield. Two swords are fun, but a shield is more defensive… And how much fun will it be to design a coat of arms for Quill to paint on the shield? Yet I worry I will get tired of lugging a shield around…

Decisions, decisions…

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in arts 'n crafts, boffer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cottington Projects

  1. JakeG says:

    These are all excellent. I’m hard pressed to say which one I like most, but I have to go with the writing on the vest. The lettering is so pretty!

Leave a Reply

