Odds and Ends

  • This kickstarter was recently brought to my attention. It’s for a webseries about LARPing called Basic Adventuring 101, and what I find most exciting about it is that it’s being made by LARPers. In other words, people who actually know what LARPing is about and what to show how awesome it can be. There are a couple days left, so check it out!
  • Occam’s Razor is a paranormal-themed Accerelant boffer campaign LARP starting up soon. It’s the same group who ran Lost Eidolons, the Lovecraftian horror LARP that I played. They’re hosting a fund raiser on Saturday May 18th, in Berlin, MA. They have a series of panels planned that I think sound really great (How to Make Interesting Modern Costumes, Character Backgrounds: How to Make a Memorable Character, and Foamsmithing 101 all appeal to me in particular) as well as a masquerade (costumes encouraged) with “dancing, music, and socializing” along with the typical stuff these fundraisers have, raffles, auctions, vendors, and a pot luck dinner. I think it’s going to be a lot of fun.
  • Speaking of Berlin, I’ve found a belly dancing group that meets about once a week, and joined my first lesson today. I’ve been meaning to try to pick up a bit of belly dancing because I think it may come in handy for LARPing some day (which is why I made learning belly dancing a New Year’s LARPing Resolution)- it seems to fit in with a lot of fantasy settins. And I would love to attend one of those SCA (Society for Creative Anachronism) events that has that sort of thing, like Pennsic. The lesson was a ton of fun, and I will definitely go again if my schedule permits it.

Unfortunately, the lessons seem to be running at the same time as the boffer practices for Shadows of Amun, another campaign Accelerant boffer LARP starting soon. I attended the first practice two weeks ago. It was part practice, part playtesting some of the stats. I played as an NPC and had fun throwing myself at the PCs. Maybe one of the two remaining practices (there are four total planned) won’t run against a belly dancing class.

  • NELCO, the New England LARP Conference, running August 9-11 in Chelmsford, MA, is now accepting bids for panels and workshops. I attended the first NELCO last summer and had a great time. It’s a weekend of LARP enthusiasts discussing and teaching and learning about our shared hobby. There’s also a Build Your Own Game workshop for new writers to try out writing a new LARP together (I got to play in the result of the first NELCO BYOG workshop, The Barbecue, on Sunday at NELCO.) I’m really excited for the second NELCO. You can register and submit ideas for panels and workshops here.
About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Odds and Ends

  1. Chad Bergeron says:

    Pennsic would be a big thing to dive into in one go. There are smaller shorter local events that also have belly dancing and other things going on. Let me know if you’d like info.

Leave a Reply

