More Cool Links

Just wanted to share a few new things I’ve found.

The first is Zit Pop Goblin Games, which is the micropublisher that publishes a LARP system called Mystic Crossroads. In their forums, I found a quite a few cool links to various LARP prop projects and costuming websites.

Proprageous is a blog with nice tutorials for some cool prop projects. My favorites were the ones for making neat book covers. Every LARP needs some ancient mysterious tomes.

Instructables is a website full of all kinds of tutorials. I searched for costumes, of course, and they have tons. Searching for “LARP” also turned up all kinds of cool projects. Here’s a favorite: a neat dwarf beard out of yarn. (I admit I suffer from a fair bit of “beard envy,” especially when I see male LARPers styling their beards as part of their costumes.)

RPF (I think it stands for Replica Prop Fandom?) is a forum full of people passionate about recreating costumes from movies, tv shows, and other entertainment media. It’s a forum for sharing tutorials, images of projects, and to ask for help from your fellow crafters. It tends to be higher-end cosplay stuff, but there’s also plenty for newbie LARP costume and prop crafters, like me. For example, I found this youtube video explaining how to make a very simple superhero style mask that looks way better than those cheap plastic domino masks. (You can skip the first minute and 40 seconds.)

This youtube video was also among the links on the ZPG forums. I liked the idea of putting foam padding, with space cut to hold a prop into a case, or treasure trunk, or whatever case you use. It kind of gives the prop inside an extra boost of grandeur, like too important to leave rattling around in its case. I think I might steal this idea for the hollow book Quill carries around in Cottington Woods.

This post in Escher Girls (a tumblr dedicated to archiving and showcasing the way female characters are distorted and oversexualized in popular illustrated media) contains a number of links that are very useful for creating characters, and much of it is quite applicable to creating and writing PCs and NPCs for LARPs. I see a lot of “how to create a new PC” guides posted online, and they’re typically pretty predictable and uninspiring. But a few of these links actually had some thought provoking ideas.

And just to get people riled up about depictions of LARP in the media, I give you an offensive 7-Eleven commercial from 2011. These kinds of things inspire me to produce nice photographs depicting LARP, because we are our own best source for contradicting the common negative depictions.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in arts 'n crafts, blogs, how to, media, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

