The Devil Comes of Age

Two theater LARPing events are coming up this summer.

A day of LARPing at WPI (in Worcester, MA) seems to have been dubbed “The Devil Comes of Age“. It features two LARPs, Devil to Pay and The Prince Comes of Age.

Devil to Pay is a 4 hour LARP by Lovers and Madmen, with a dark pirate theme. I played it at the last Festival of the LARPs (you can read about my experience here.) It’s full, though there is a waiting list. As I’ve already played, I’ll be helping by GMing.

Players of Devil to Pay may recognize some of the decorations.

The Prince Comes of Age is a high fantasy LARP featuring some politicking, some adventuring, and a lot of teen angst. I’ve heard rave reviews from people who have played, so I’m quite excited to be playing. There’s also room for four more female players, so come sign up!

Another event that was recently announced was the third Dia de los Sobres (Day of the Envelopes… still love that name) which I hear will feature Agent Bobo of the Resistance, one of the Iron GM entries from the last Intercon, a highly conceptual 2 hour LARP with a child psychology theme. (You can read about my experience playing it towards the end of this post.) It will also feature The Other Side of the Glass, one of the most recent LARPs by Paranoid and Crotchety, which is a writing team that I always hear good thing about and have had great experiences with. More information on Dia de los Sobres as it comes.

NELCO 2013 is running August 9-11 in Chelmsford, MA, though we’re still waiting on a schedule. (There’s a survey on the website if you’d like to add your own input regarding what panels and events will run.)

And I’ve just spotted the first LARPs to go up on the Intercon N website. They include High Rollers, which I’ve really enjoyed, a humorous hoard LARP by the writers of Time Travel Review Board, another LARP I really liked, While Their Eyes Are Closed, by the aforementioned Paranoid and Crotchety writing team, as well as something called Young Cultists in Love, which I suspect will be popular just based on the theme.

Very exciting!

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

