More Links to Share

One, people on reddit have started a map of LARPs. It’s pretty neat, and maybe it will answer some questions about quantity and distribution of LARPs that I’ve often wondered. I see someone has already added Intercon (which is not a LARP, per se, but a relevant LARPing event.) And Cottington Woods. (Alright, the latter was me!)

Check it out and add your own LARPs!

Two, there’s a blog I follow called Historical Sewing. There’s a recent post on caring for and storing costumes, which can actually get quite challenging, once you’ve reached a point where you’ve got bustles and frames for your hoop skirts and corsets… I know my closet is overflowing. A lot of it is admittedly beyond what I would do for my costuming (my stuff is a lot more basic  than hers) but there’s still a lot of useful tips for anyone with costuming.

Three, SLAW (SFS Live Action Weekend), WPI’s weekend of LARPs, has been announced for November 15th-17th, and they are looking for submissions for LARPs to run. It’s another free event that typically hosts short theater style LARPs. If you’d like to run something, you can email the person coordinating the event with the following information:

Name of game
length of game
min/max # of women/men/neutral
room requirements
scheduling requirements
blurb and description
If it takes walk-ons/newbie-friendliness

I’m already looking forward to SLAW 2013!

And lastly, I follow a lot of the chatter on tumblr that goes on about LARPing, and while I like maintaining a blog and I don’t love some aspects of the tumblr format, I sometimes wonder if I’ve missed out by not creating a tumblr account instead. There’s a lot more fluff, but the quick posting and re-posting format seems to encourage a lot more dialog and makes increasing exposure a lot easier. Or so it seems to me.

What do you think?

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in conventions, costuming, media and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

