Preparing for Envelopes

I realize I haven’t posted all week. I’ve been kinda busy with little things like, oh… seeing Aerosmith live in concert.

AERO-FREAKING-SMITH

It was the first time I ever attended a major concert, and Aerosmith is actually my favorite band. (I just love classic rock.) It actually made me think about an 80s rock themed murder mystery LARP I once played. I was the wild drummer of the band.

Tony “Skids” Petrocelli, drummer of Toxic Waste, from the LARP Sex, Drugs, and Rock & Roll

Toxic Waste from the LARP Sex, Drugs, and Rock & Roll: Eric “Grooves” Maxwell, guitarist, (Cameron Betts), Danny “Madman” Maxwell, vocals (Brad Smith), and Tony “Skids” Petrocelli, drummer (yours truly)

Eric and Danny amuse themselves by resting their arms on Tony’s head when they realize how distinct the height gap is. (To be fair, Eric is wearing boots with 4 inch soles.)

I feel like I’ve been neglecting this blog, so I’m going to just write up a quick update my current state of life as far as LARPing is concerned.

Dia de los Sobres (“Day of the Envelopes”) 2013 is in two days. There two LARPs running, one of which I’ve already played (AGENT Bobo). I might ask the GMs if they’ll let me watch it run. I’m quite excited to be playing the other LARP, The Other Side of the Glass, aka Mirror.  I’m a fan of the writing team, Paranoid and Crotchety, as I’ve really enjoyed a few others LARPs they’ve written. The themes of the LARP are intriguing (from the blurb: “The Other Side of the Glass is a character-driven game about love, gender, identity, and the strange ways in which magic changes them all.” I received my character sheet late last night (I think I’m going to enjoy this character.) The costuming directions seemed simple at first glance- all black with sunglasses. I happened upon a pair of sunglasses at a random late night convenience store run (knocked over the display while I was trying them on; that was awkward.) But then I couldn’t find any black pants. I finally found a pair, but not before having a slight tantrum over every pair of black pants that I own simultaneously going missing right when I happened to really need one for costuming.

I’ve also had a small chat with two other LARPers playing in Mirror. Our characters have a connected history and are likely to be interacting a lot in very unusual situations, so we talked about physical boundaries and limits. It’s not a bad idea for LARPs that focus on sensitive issues. Luckily, these are LARPers I know well and trust. The whole cast list is actually pretty awesome.

In two weeks time, there is another small LARPing weekend dubbed “The Devil Comes of Age”. The LARP I’m helping GM, Devil to Pay, has been cast.  I’m hopeful that the LARP I’m playing in, The Prince Comes of Age, will be cast this weekend, or early next week.

Other LARPing events this summer include the second NELCO (a mini-conference of LARP panels) and the one day event of Cottington Woods. Summer is generally the slow season of LARPing, but happily, this summer is proving to have a decent amount of LARPing for me.

See you on the other side of the mirror!

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in conventions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Preparing for Envelopes

  1. Ivan Zalac says:

    Cool. Looking forward to the future articles from your blog 🙂
    Over here, summer is the high larping season 🙂

Leave a Reply

