Prepping the Devil

This past Sunday, I got together with the writers of Devil to Pay, the dark historical pirate LARP, and we prepped all of the writing materials. (A lot of theater LARPers call this “stuffing” the LARP, since a lot of envelopes tend to get stuffed in the process.)

Paper goods everywhere.

I also prepped some set dressing, namely the iced tea drink dispenser for the pirates to quaff their “rum” from (naturally, what else would pirates drink?) It has to be redone for each run of the LARP, as the brown paper wrapped gets damaged, mostly in storage between runs.

Welcome to the Caribbean, love.

Some of the boxes used for set dressing and carrying props got damaged between runs, too, so I redid a couple.

Boxes in progress.

They’re meant to look like they were taken in raids on East India Company boats. Here’s a secret- the logo is not historical; it’s from the Pirates of the Caribbean movies. We figured recognizability was important for creating an atmosphere.

Luckily, I still had the stencil I made from the first time, so it went pretty quickly. Even better, this time I was able to do it outside, which is nice when you’re working with spray glue and spray paint.

And lastly, I worked on one of the prop scrolls for the LARP.

I’ve still got a couple more scrolls to do some time this week.

On top of that, I’ve got just a bit of costuming for The Prince Comes of Age to do. Plus, I’ve gotten an email about NELCO (New England LARP Conference) scheduling and panels, which is super exciting.

 

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in arts 'n crafts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

