From Depths

This apartment I’m living in has two closets in the main room dubbed the “closets of doom” because they’re so stuffed full of random crap that they can’t be fully closed. Things enter and never come out. I remember spilling some markers I was using to make Intercon posters, and they just sort of filtered through the top of layer of stuff and I don’t know what level in the closet they landed on but it was disheartening. I knew they were never coming out. Buying new markers would be a lot easier and quicker than retrieving the spilled set.

This week, the closets are finally being cleaned. Within their depths, I’ve found…

…spell packets

…nerf darts

…intact nerf guns and random pieces of nerf guns

…sheets detailing unlocked secret headers in the boffer LARP Lost Eidolons (Pugilist, Alienist, Archeologist…)

…an Intercon J con booklet

…item tags

…old theater character sheets

…old Accelerant stat sheets

…the Other Ear from the set I used for Taz (the one that vanished because she replaced it with a steampunk prosthetic)

…masks I made for Venezia and Prince Comes of Age

…a Juliet cap I made for Venezia out of wire, hot glue, ribbon, and fake pearls

…plastic swords and daggers from old runs of Stars of Al-Ashtara and Elanthia

…scraps of iron-on adhesive from making banners

…a thrifted curtain, intended to be made into a banner

…foam tubes for making boffer weapons

… vests and hats from costumes gone by

…props for magic rituals

…half of a set of laurels spray painted gold for a Grecian LARP

… a set of bow and arrows

… maps of Europe for Venezia

… GM badges shaped like sheriff badges for Redemption

There’s more that I’m forgetting, I’m sure.

I think maybe some LARPers live here…

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to From Depths

  1. JakeG says:

    Now I don’t feel as guilty about the LARPtastrophe that is my bedroom. Foam and fiberglass tubing EVERYWHERE.

  2. Alon Levy says:

    One of these days I’ll also have a closet I can lose LARP material in. Right now I only have a suitcase, since everything I own here needs to be moved away next summer.

Leave a Reply

