This is Halloween

I’m noticing various mentions of Halloween being incorporated into LARP events this time of year, either as a subtle inspiration or a blatant theme. To Be Continued, or TBC, will have an actual Halloween dance at the event this Sunday. I originally thought about making some wolf accessories to wear as Arya Stark in costume, but I haven’t managed to pick up gray fur in time. (The local Jo-ann Fabrics has every other color, including gray with stripes, but no plain gray.) I know wolves come in other colors,  but I thought gray would be the least likely to be confused for some other animal. Alas. I will likely wear my black cat ears and tail and enjoy roleplaying indignation whenever someone calls me a kitty. “I’m supposed to be a wolf, dammit!” Or find something else in my closet, who knows.

It looks like Cottington Woods is following suit, as evidenced some of the requests on the donations lists, which include pumpkins, at least one per cabin, to be carved in-game. I wonder if they will serve some in-game mechanical purposes, such as using them to ward off evil spirits or as some kind of offering for local fairies. Either way, it’s really fantastic to see in-game art projects in LARPs.

On top of the pumpkin carving, there is also going to be a masked party at the next event (explicitly not a fancy masquerade, which I’m hoping means they plan to save that sort of thing for a later event.) I’m excited to make a mask for this event, and I’ve already begun working on a design. I’ve been looking through tons of pictures of gorgeous Venetian masks (thank you, pinterest) for inspiration. I’d like to do something like the masks I did for King’s Musketeers and Venezia.

A detailed description of how I made the mask is here.

Much as I love the look of a mask on a stick, I think this time around, I will put strings on it so that it will stay on my face. Gotta keep my hands free for boffer LARPs!

The question that remains for me is what color scheme to use — one that will match my standard Quill outfit (muddy red, off-white, and black, maybe with some writing on it), or one that will match my festive outfit for Quill, which is meant to look like something she wore when she was still just a doll (pink and white, maybe with gold accents.)  Or, a third possible option — fall colors, maybe with fall leaves incorporated, to match the theme of the event.

If the staff sends out the teaser early enough, I might have an easier time figuring out what Quill is mostly likely to wear and decide based on that. But I know myself — unless there’s a very clear reason to pick one over the others, I might very well end up making three masks. Maybe some other PCs at the event will want to borrow the two extra. Whatever I end up making, I’m sure it will include some glow-in-the-dark nail polish.

I’ve also got a few other art projects for Cottington Woods in mind, though I don’t know if I’ll get to them in the next week and a half. One of these days, I’ll create some ceremonial robes, a new wind-up key (my current one has gotten a bit beaten up), a new scarf embroidered with the word TRUTH (which I’ve already done twice… third time is the charm?), a shield, decoration for my sword, and maybe more work on the festive doll outfit. But that all can wait, at least until I’m finished with the masks.

Don’tcha just love it when LARP affords its players opportunities for art projects?

 

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in arts 'n crafts, costuming. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

