Post Halloween

This past Sunday, I helped stuff Devil to Pay, the pirate themed LARP by the LARP writing team Lovers and Madmen. It will be running this weekend for the HRSFA crowd. It didn’t take as long as I might have thought to stuff the LARP. Some of the plot that used to only be in the heads of the writers has been written down. None of Lovers and Madmen’s LARPs have been boxed for other GM teams to run,  but maybe this one has taken a step in that direction.

Ready to run.

I’ve filled out both casting questionnaires for the two LARPs I’ll be playing at this year’s SLAW. Both are science fiction LARPs of similar settings. One is heavily inspired by Firefly and set in a cantina like the one on Mos Eisley… the other is actually set in the Star Wars universe at the Mos Eisley cantina and takes place between the second and third prequels. I’m quite excited to play both. I practically begged to be cast as a Jedi in the latter… and I’ve actually already begun collecting images of various versions of the Jedi robes into a pinterest board… just in case. I already have a pretty decent Jedi costume that I wore while handing out candy this past Halloween. It was put together out of pieces of my costume for the theater LARP Ghost Fu, and leftover brown felt from a donation project I made for Cottington Woods.

Complete with padawan braid.

I think if I do get cast as a Jedi, I will update it a bit and maybe even get brown riding boots, which I’ve wanted for awhile. The black boots just don’t look right to me.

…And a lightsaber, of course.

I also wore a variation on my Robin costume, first worn for the LARP Call Batman, Call Superman, Call Anyone! It was sort of cobbled together last minute for a Halloween party where a friend of mine went as Batman. The mask was just painted on and the “cape” was actually a black robe with the sleeves tucked in, but I still had fun wearing it. I love Robin.

The Boy Wonder

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in costuming, theater/parlor. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

