Intercon N LARPs

Sign ups for Intercon, the annual all-LARPing convention, are c0ming up. According to their newsletter, “the first LARP signup period will start at 7pm EST on Tuesday, November 26. The second LARP signup period will start on Wednesday, December 4. LARP signups will be fully open on Thursday, December 12.”

And very recently, a whole slew of LARPs have been added to the roster on the website. I’m currently enjoying going through the list and trying to figure out which ones I’m hoping to sign up for. There are far too many, I think, even if I managed to squeeze eight games into my schedule again.

A few such LARPs include A Mayfair in the Colonies, the Revolutionary Era LARP I’ve been hoping for. Cirque du Fey‘s flavor of dark fey magic and Victorian era circus theme sound quite intriguing, as does the historical decadence, occult, violence and politics of The Bloody Harvest of Pomona. (Ironically, three of those are listed as potential triggers, but I consider them draws.) I’ve heard positive things about Shine and The Clockwork Cafe as well. And there’s another G.I Joe LARP in the same series as the one I enjoyed last year.

I’m particularly happy to see Rabbit Run on the list. Many of the authors are people I know and like from the boffer community. Even better, it sounds like it will combine elements of both the typical boffer LARP and the typical theater LARP, which is something I’ve been thinking a lot about and hoping to see.

And then there’s A Game of Thrones: Blackfyre Rising, a theater LARP based on my favorite book series that I’ve played twice and loved. …I am seriously wondering if they would allow someone to play a third time. (Unlikely, as they probably want to give preference to people who haven’t gotten a chance to play yet… but you never know…)

Check out the new games and get excited for sign ups with me! Which LARPs are you hoping to play?

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in conventions, Intercon. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Intercon N LARPs

  1. Alon Levy says:

    While Their Eyes Are Closed, and Neon Remix 2121. Mayfair would be close to the top of my list, but I was told it conflicts with the game I’m running or with While Their Eyes Are Closed, I forget which.

  2. Fair Escape says:

    It currently conflicts with both While Their Eyes Are Closed and Neon Remix. though the schedule isn’t finalized yet.

    • Alon Levy says:

      Ah, yes.

      That slot looks brutal, although it makes perfect sense to have the games that will probably fill first round run opposite each other.

      • Jeff Diewald says:

        Scheduling an Intercon is a challenging game of Tetris. GMs provide a preference for when they want to run. They also provide a list of constraints; e.g. I am also running game Y, and I can’t be in two places at the same time. There are lesser constraints – as a GM, I really want to play in Z’s game, so don’t schedule me against it.

        We assume that games that pass the Bid Committee discussions will probably fill, given the player base. The Bid Committee talks about each game proposed for the con, and it’s a diverse set of voices. The goal is to screen out terrible “games” like the Fourth Generation (Vampire) Prince of Mt. Laurel. (Ask me about it some time. I was there. I saw the train wreck in person. It’s why there’s an Intercon Dance Party.) We don’t always succeed. Ask me about Slave Girls of the Terror Dome, too.

        Given that, the con wants to balance the time slots against typical loads. Some people like to stay up late on Friday and then sleep in, so Saturday morning generally doesn’t have the same demands as Saturday afternoon and evening. Can the con find a set of games that will handle the demand for a given slot? For all slots?

        Then there are the space demands – can we physically fit all of the games for the given time period into the space we have available? If not, are there tricks we can use to get around the limits? (We have seriously talked about using the coat room on the first floor…)

        This is not an easy problem. A LOT of thought goes into it.

  3. Tara Halwes says:

    FYI, Blackfyre Rising can’t functionally give preference to people who haven’t played. The best the could do is give those people choice characters. Everyone who gets in gets in, and the GMs don’t control that, so if you really want to play a third time, you can just sign up. I thought about playing a second time since the first time I played we were missing 1/3 of the characters (that IMA run) and I was a last minute fill who had never heard of Game of Thrones (or the Tyrells of Highgarden) before. I think I’d appreciate it very differently now.

    That said, you could always ask the GMs if they’d rather you not sign up.

    • Fair Escape says:

      Yeah, my intention was to send an email asking them how they felt about it. I suspect they would have no objection to you playing a second time (they probably don’t even know who played the IMA run, and wouldn’t mind even if someone called attention to it.) I don’t know how they’d feel about me playing a third time, but even if they didn’t love the idea, I doubt they’d do anything. But hypothetically, I wonder if con com would consider altering the policy to accommodate GMs who didn’t want repeat players if someone actually had an issue with it?

Leave a Reply

