LARP Resolutions

While working on my post for the New Year, summing up my year in LARPing, it occurred to me that it might be interesting to come up with a list of ideas for LARP-related resolutions — not just my own, but ones any LARPer might like to try. I know a lot of this is stuff many of us already do… and some of this is more of a rainy day project than an actual resolution… but hopefully with a big enough list, everyone will be able to find something they’ve never tried but would like to this year.

If anyone has any ideas of their own for LARP related New Year Resolutions, please share! I’ll try to keep this list updated.

General

Try a LARP form you haven’t yet experienced.

Try a genre you haven’t yet experienced.

Try a LARP written in another country.

Learn the basics of a new type of dance.

(I find belly dancing can work with many fantasy settings, as well as various historical/cultural settings. Or try the waltz, which comes up in a lot of masquerade and ball events. Is your LARP set somewhere between the 1920s to 1940s? Try to learn the basic steps of swing. If you can’t find a class, youtube has lots of great tutorials.)

Travel farther than you ever have for a LARP.

Write a story based on a LARP you’ve played/are playing.

Attend a LARP-related panel (at a convention, or an event like PreCon or NELCO) or a LARP-related discussion group.

Costuming/Set Design/Props

Try a new element of costuming you’ve never done before, such as a custom scent. BPAL is popular for this sort of thing. Other ideas: nail polish, wings, temporary tattoos or henna, costume contacts, wigs, fake fangs, fake scars, or historically appropriate undergarments.

If you’ve never made your own costume, try making one this year. (Chitons are super easy and don’t require sewing.)

Learn to put on a garment from another culture, such as how to wrap a toga, or how to wrap a sari.

Try a new hairstyle appropriate to your favorite era to LARP in.

Make a boffer weapon or shield, if you’ve never done it before.

Community

Email the GMs/staff just to say thank you after each event.

Write a LARP. Or run someone else’s.

Make a point after each event to tell one other player something you thought they did or made was cool.

Boffer /Campaign

Keep your character at CP cap.

Send in your PELs on time.

Try a new combat style you’ve never done before.

Host a few between event practices.

Theater

For all casting questionnaire without a specified due date, respond within three days of receiving it.

Promoting LARP

Get a group of friends together and do a photo shoot in your costumes. Share your favorite shots online.

Encourage/invite someone who has never LARPed before to try it.

In Game/In Character Experiences

Make a gift for your character to give someone in-game.

Learn a real life skill your character might have. Is your character a medic? Take a CPR class, or watch tutorials on how to suture wounds.

Start an in-character journal.

C00k a dish to be shared in game. (Bonus points if is appropriate for the in-game culture.)

Write a letter from your character to another PC between events.

Learn a few common phrases in the language your character speaks (Alternatively, learn a few phrases from the culture your character’s culture is based on. For example, if you have a character who comes from a land inspired by Russia, learn a few expressions in Russian.)

Learn/teach (or write?) a song appropriate for your in-game culture. Bonus points if it’s relevant to your character’s in-game culture and/or state of mind.

Have any LARP related resolutions of your own to share? Or ideas for others to try? I’d love to hear your ideas!

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to LARP Resolutions

  1. I’m going to borrow your format because I liked the category format. These are mostly for me, and it is interesting what writing/staffing does for the goals… …but feel free to take any you like.

    General:
    Hit my deadlines for writing games
    Talk more game theory with friends
    Go to panels and discussion groups
    Read more blogs
    Help other people run games

    Costuming / Set Design / Props
    Work on more “quick walls”
    Kit up my Occam’s character
    Paint and test more nerf guns

    Community
    Hit more social outings with LARP friends
    Throw a party for LARP people
    Host some video chat sessions with groups

    Boffer / Campaign
    More fight practices – find and/or host
    Throw packets regularly
    Smack the practice dummy
    Organize PEL and character documents
    Organize and learn more songs

    Theater
    Get my web site and docs in order
    Possibly standardize a set of rules for our games
    Collect and revise documents on existing games
    Finish writing my new sci-fi game

    Promoting LARP
    Connect with folks at The LARP Forum
    Drag some SCA folks into Shadows of Amun
    Drag more Intercon folks into Shadows of Amun
    Convince some other boffer people to come out for Shadows
    Basically push Shadows on EVERYONE (because it is one of my jobs)
    Talk up Intercon on people who’d be interested

    IG character Experiences
    Write more in-character letters to a variety of players in Cottington Woods
    Keep up on bulletin boards (Shadows/Occams)
    Generate some IG discussion among players before an Intercon Game
    (Re)Read source materials and rulebooks to refresh my view of game worlds

    • Fair Escape says:

      These are awesome. I’m gonna steal a bunch. Which LARP forum do you want to connect with? What sort of IG discussion are you hoping to promote?

      Ooh, that reminds me. I think I still haven’t gotten approved to read the Shadows board, but I’d like to…

      • Hmmn, will get you on that Shadows Board, if only to ghost,,,

        And I guess The LARP Forum is with a capital T. It is an event to cross-promote games, but I’m hoping to discuss game theory and writing there as well, and pick up any tips and good advice. War story at the very worst.
        http://www.thelarpforum.org/

        Depending on the Intercon roles received and GMs, I might try to send fellow players an in-character letter to encourage pre-game enthusiasm (aka floon). Not the “When I start singing, shank the Lannisters” sort of planning letter, but more the “Looking forward to seeing you there” letter. I have had pregame contacts twice, and that went pretty well, and made game start a little less awkard.

        • Fair Escape says:

          Ooh! I’m currently torn between the Forum and a Spar-b-q. Decisions, decisions.

          It’s interesting how varied attitudes towards pre-game/post-game stuff is. Some people have told me that they think it can be actively detrimental to a game. The HRSFA crowd is pretty enthusiastic about pre and post-game floon. I definitely want to experiment with it more.

          • I am not 100% sure it works for all games. I am hoping to have a single game where the GM is enthusiastic about the idea and I have obvious player connections.

            I might extend the suggestion to players in my game to see how that works. Again, in the, “Lannisters write to each other if you like,” manner, but not a “Here is game forum – start playing without us.”

            I’m curious to see if that social dynamic assists in developing personal connections in a short form game. I find between game contact does in a campaign.

  2. Alon Levy says:

    It’s more about writing than about LARPing, but my resolution is to finish the writeups I’ve done based on games. The big one is the alt history based on a LARP I played a year ago (which is almost done! I started in 1500 and am in the 1940s right now, and know the basic outline of 1950-2013 history).

    For the rest:

    1. If I do not get interview invitations for the Joint Math Meetings, make a decision between the local boffer LARP and the MIT mystery hunt. Probably the LARP. (Note to employers: on pretty much any notice, both can be canceled easily.) Keep going to said boffer LARP whenever possible in the coming semester.

    2. Be more social in said boffer, especially with people I know on Facebook but only really met once, a year ago.

    3. Finish the Bad Apples revisions and Planetfall well in advance of Intercon to send out character packets in time.

    4. Make sure all Iron GM teams are full so that I’m not tempted.

    5. Get theater games up and running in the Pacific Northwest, by recruiting theater-curious geeks from boffer LARPs or otherwise.

    6. Follow up with players better about suggestions for both Bad Apples and Planetfall.

    7. Try a non-boffer, non-theater game, like Dystopia Rising or World of Darkness.

    8. Possibly, finish Coalition and run it. (Running it is the easy part, since it can be done by Google Hangout, although it’s suboptimal.)

    • Fair Escape says:

      All awesome resolutions. Do you share write-ups publicly?

      • Alon Levy says:

        No, but I can email the alt history to you.

        There’s also a story I’m writing that syncretizes the boffer LARP I played in and a dream I had about 3-4 weeks ago about space piracy (maybe possibly influenced by Bad Apples and Planetfall, I’m not sure). But I’d want to run it by people who’ll tear into it and tell me that it’s bad writing first.

        By the way, is it just me, or do these resolutions look like LARP goal lists?

        • Fair Escape says:

          Ha, it kind of is like a goal list! Feel free to email me any alt histories or other LARP related works, especially if it was inspired by a LARP I’ve played/participated in.

          • Alon Levy says:

            It’s more like a side goal list. My RL character’s main goal, for well over a decade, has been brutally PvP: get a permanent research position in math.

            The main alt history is based on Temptemus Papam, which you haven’t played, but you can think of a lot of it as “European power politics went a bit differently in 1500.” The important point of departure isn’t the Italian arranged marriages, but an arranged marriage between Henry VIII and Claude of France, leading to a union of England and France.

Leave a Reply

