Another To Be Continued

This morning was the most recent installment of To Be Continued, or TBC, the campaign theater LARP in which I play Arya Stark. I could tell the writers had been working overtime to get it ready, and I was quite impressed by the sheer amount of writing and prep work that went into it. It’s a very large LARP, and they seemed to keep the bulk of their players scrambling around for six hours, alternating between saving the world and their grades.

Arya rescued her mentor and head of security, Mad-Eye Moody of Harry Potter, (with the help of DC Comic’s Starfire, Oda Iroh and Zuko of Avatar: The Last Airbender, and Bella Talbot of Supernatural.) She also took two finals, analyzing a real crime scene for her Criminal Science taught by Dr. Jekyll (of the novel Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde, of course) and racing through caves and climbing down a mountain cliff for P.E., under the supervision of Thor of Marvel Comics and Captain Hammer (of Dr. Horrible’s Sing-along Blog). She also tried to retrieve the bones of one of her ancestors, which had ended up in an archaeology exhibit and made a deal that will probably reveal itself to be ill-advised at the next event. There was also a bit of demon fighting in the caves below the school.

I also hear there was a Groundhog’s Day inspired plot in which one of the PCs got caught in a time loop. I rather like that idea. I never quite found out what was going on in-game, but I did see hints of it cropping up in my own background sheet for this event, which was pretty neat. I like the way the stories of the PCs subtly and overtly intertwine.

One other little update to Arya’s story in To Be Continued: a young shadowcat is now following her around.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

