Update on Dice Bubble and Intercon

I feel as though I’ve been neglecting this blog in the past two or three weeks. I have quite a few partially written posts on a variety of topics, so hopefully this will not last long. In the meantime, here is a quick update on my life in LARP.

A friend of mine and I are running Betrothals and Betrayals at Dice Bubble in a week and a half. This is actually the first time I’ve ever been a head GM and not just an aGM, so it’s quite exciting. (And for the record, I’ve already managed to botch something — I sent out the questionnaire with a bizarre, misleading subject line — “Possible email/questionnaire.”) D’oh.

The LARP is pretty low-key to run, so I’m not at all stressed about it, despite the fact that our players are skewed heavily male and the game is about people looking to find a spouse. We spent a few hours this week discussing how to make it work, depending on whether or not we get more sign ups. We have a few plans. One involves completely flipping the genders of the entire cast (which I guess would make the setting into an alternate universe matriarchal version of regency era England? That could be fascinating.) Alternate plans including flipping the genders of one or two characters, squishing a few characters together into one, and/or creating one homosexual romance. We shall see!

I’ve just been cast as Princess Peach in what will be my second time playing Fungal Coronation at RPI. A friend of mine is playing Mario. Fortunately, we happen to know a couple who went as Peach and Mario for Halloween, so costuming should be super easy. Pity I don’t have more time — I think scouring thrift stores for fluffy pink dresses, or skirts and shirts, would be fun. (Who knows, I may yet have to find time to do that if borrowing a costume doesn’t work out.)

There are two LARPs at Intercon for which my costuming will be major projects. (The others either don’t involve any costuming in advance — the Iron GM games cast at the door — or involve costuming I fully expect to simply pull out of my closet. (The mundane closet. Not the massive-and-ever-growing costuming closet.) And I’ve been cast for both. In Cirque du Fey, I will be playing the strong woman of the Dark Umbral circus, so I’m trying to create a costume that reads “late Victorian” “dark and mysterious” “strong woman circus act” all in one.

It’s a fascinating challenge. I’ve avoided sequins and sparkles and rhinestones as much as possible in my costuming until now, but this is a circus costume, so all of those things are extremely appropriate. And predictably, I’ve already got sparkles all over my living room. And a prop dumbbell out of Styrofoam and the cardboard tube from wrapping paper.

The other LARP is Welcome to Dragon Palace, a theater/boffer hybrid set in a fantasy version of Heian era Japan. All of the PCs are champions of various animal gods. And I will play the champion of the rabbit goddess, which is just what I was hoping for. I love rabbits. I had a huge collection of stuffed rabbits as a kid, and there was a wild rabbit who used to feed on a weed patch last year outside my door several times a day, until I convinced myself he was my pet and named him Bunbury.

That’s my Bunbury.

I nearly cried when landscapers got rid of the weeds and Bunbury moved on to find greener pastures.

He liked the potato vine.

At any rate, I was just about bursting to start costuming for this rabbit champion, when someone pointed out that our casting emails came with the note that more specific costuming instructions would be coming in a day or two. I’ve been planning this costume for a long time now, looking for patterns for things like hakama pants online and admiring all of the Japanese print fabrics at Joann’s… and now we’ve got our more detailed costuming hints, and I think I’ve been going about this costume all wrong. Good thing I managed to wait to start it. (Just barely. I always get antsy to start Intercon costuming this time of year.)

Interestingly, the Dragon Palace character lends herself to a theme of night and white and silver and sparkles, much like the Cirque du Fey character. There might be some overlap in the accessories between the two costumes, which is cool, and there will definitely be some overlap in the fabrics I’m using. (I’ve got pinterest boards for both of them, of course.)

Sparkly.

Last year was the year of costuming held together with safety pins. This year will be the year of sparkles.

On the topic of Intercon, a survey recently went out about the various panels proposed for Pre-Con. There were a lot of great panels on the list, and I think Pre-Con is going to be awesome this year.

And in other news, LARPBook posted about a zombie ARG running in various cities in England over the spring and fall, so if you live in that corner of the world, check it out! I’m suddenly wishing I was English. I mean… more so than usual.

And lastly, I found out about a site that tells you how to attach any two materials, including what kinds of adhesives to use and other tips one might need to know. I suspect this will come in handy for costuming many times.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in costuming, Intercon, theater/parlor and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

