Panel Prep for PreCon 2014

So it looks like I’m running a panel on in-character art in LARPs in a couple weeks at Pre-Con!

I’m talking specifically about visual art, not performance art. (Though I do love music and dancing and acting and storytelling in LARP! It’s just not what this particular panel is about.)

I’m trying to compile a list of examples of in-character art creating during a LARP event. A lot of us create a lot of art before and after and between events — a lot of it that is, in-game, made by our characters, too, but I’m trying to find examples of things we made during a LARP. Painting, knitting, crocheting, sculpting, drawing, calligraphy, origami, coloring, cutting-and-gluing, carving, etc. that characters did in game. Anyone have any cool examples to share? If you include pictures (and your permission and how you’d like to be credited) it may end up in a slideshow.

I’m specifically hoping for stuff instigated by the staff/GMs/NPCs as part of the event, but stuff you did on your own is cool, too, so long as it was created during a LARP event, while you were in-character.

Here are a couple examples to get things started:

  Glowing Carved Pumpkins

 

Gestures of respect for the denizens of the forest

At an event last fall, the PCs all carved pumpkins with personally meaningful symbols (or drew on them if they didn’t want to get messy) and left them outside their cabins to appease local fae and spirits.

Illuminated Journal (recorded names of the dead)

My character, Quill, keeps an in-game journal and writes during downtime. She also tries to illuminate the pages (think Book of Kells) so I often sit with a set of markers and decorate the pages with colorful celtic knots and other drawings during downtime in the tavern.

Feel free to comment below or email me at fairescape at hotmail dot com!

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in arts 'n crafts, conventions, Pre-Con. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Panel Prep for PreCon 2014

  1. Alex says:

    this was not in game, but the author of CollabNarration (who I will not name for privacy reasons) has made some truly amazing pieces of art for Endgame scenes, including one very memorable illustrated scroll for a Mind Dive.

  2. Kat says:

    Both of my PCs have In-Game journals. My Shadows of Amun character is filled with everything from drawing of crime scenes for later analysis to IC ramblings about my feelings at any given moment to anything important anyone says to me that I think the wording might be relevant on (Whispers of the Dead, for example). Also drawings of random things I see. Layla/Mouse spends a lot of time sitting quietly and listening, so drawing is a thing that keeps my hands busy while I do that.

    My OR character is fundamentally broken on a number of levels, and is very much unstable and insane. Her Journal reflects this. I don’t know if the PCs have figured out that the girl calling herself “Alice” writes “Late” over and over againw hile sitting and listening to them talking.

  3. You should come visit my home and take a look at Virgil’s paintings. During the Balance of Power chronicle, I played a Toreador painter – and I actually painted in character. Some of the paintings were worked on during game sessions, with other characters present. I can see the entire psychological progression of Virgil’s character in the works, which fascinates me. I was actually not the only player painting in character during the game, so when there was a Toreador art show, it really was art done by characters in the game. My LJ/G+ icon is Virgil’s last work.

    In particular, the session, in my condo, where Virgil invited Hunters to talk, had a complex and wonderful interaction. The art materials – the easel, the painting he worked on during the session, and all the paints, was all that stood between a vampire and vampire hunters. Yes, the back door was unlocked as an escape route, but it was the painting that kept Virgil centered. It was an amazing roleplaying experience.

  4. Most of my creations are written, poetry or songs, but my wife created a full tarot deck for 7V. pretty awesome.

    • Fair Escape says:

      Ooh, that’s awesome. I’ve often wanted to draw my characters as tarot cards, either pre-existing or made up ones. Are her cards represented by PCs and NPCs in the images? Do you think she’d send me some pictures if I asked?

  5. Bess says:

    I’ve spent a lot of downtime in Cottington Woods spinning. The yarn will not be ready in time for the panel, but I can certainly get a picture of it on the spindle.

    RE the tarot deck I made for 7V — that was created at home, out of game. Only a few of the images are pictures of actual PCs and NPCs, as I did most of the work at the very beginning of the game, and I’m not great at drawing people.

  6. JJ says:

    For a different game, was required to create a ‘flesh book’ out of pieces of, um… things we’d acquired. Got some real leather, red-colored twine, and parchment, and got a friend to help me tool/dye the leather and then stitch it so it looked like it had been made of several pieces of skin sewn together, and then we bound the entire thing. Was an interesting process, during which we learned that, sadly, red tea stains things blue.

Leave a Reply

