Announcing ¡Fiestaval!

Intercon is a week away, and I’m super busy prepping.  It looks like I’ll be NPCing two LARPs this year (G.I Joe: Noir and Rabbit Run) which will only require basic blacks and minimal costuming, one LARP that involves modern clothing (Star-Crossed) and one that involves no costuming (the Iron GM LARPs cast at the door. I plan to go in Batman pajamas, like last year.) Which leaves major costuming projects for the two remaining LARPs. My strong woman from a dark mysterious Victorian era circus costume is nearly complete. I have one last bauble to find for the shoulder of the dress, the dumbbell is spray painted but not yet put together, and I hot glued together a headdress that needs a hairband for support. The belt, which is meant to resemble Roman pterugies, took a lot more time than expected, but it’s finally complete, and I think I’m satisfied with the result.

The Jo-ann Fabrics near me ran out of the fabric I wanted for my Dragon Palace costume, so I went considerably farther than usual and picked up an entire bolt of white fabric. My champion of the rabbit goddess costume is rather voluminous. The hakama pants are well under way, and I’ve got a pattern for the top. Fingers crossed it gets finished in time. Luckily, the shoes and make-up are the same as the stuff I’m using for Cirque.

10+ yards, ready to go.

On top of those, I offered to help a friend out with a costume for A Game of Thrones: Blackfyre Rising. It will be just a simple tabard, and I already have the materials. (There’s currently a large sale going on a Jo-ann Fabrics that could not be better timed for me.)

Additionally, I’m putting together material for three panels (thank you to everyone who shared cool art projects with me!) and creating posters to go up around Intercon. I like to sit and color with markers while watching tv or listening to music. I can’t do them all in black because I’d run out of ink too fast, but it’s hard to make them fit the noir theme with bright colors.

Poster Preview

Fortunately, the raffle is pretty much ready to go (whew!)

But Brandeis’ Festival of the LARPs is always not far off after Intercon. Another free weekend of theater LARPing, and somewhat larger than SLAW and Dice Bubble and Time Bubble its counterparts at WPI and RPI. This year’s Festival is April 25th-27th, and its theme is ¡Fiestaval!

Registration for the event is free and now available. Bids are open, so if you have a LARP you’d like to run, consider running it at Festival! Sign-ups are now tiered (all of the LARP weekends seem to have picked up on this trend) and you can sign up for your first LARP on Tuesday, March 18th, your second on Wednesday, March 19th, and as many as you like as of Thursday, March 20th, all at 7pm. Keep your eye out in the weeks to come for the schedule!

I’m a huge fan of Festival — knowing that another fun weekend of LARPing is around the corner really helps me deal with con crash after Intercon. (You know, that down feeling you get after the rush of a convention you’ve been looking forward to for ages and prepping for? It’s a real thing.) Plus, there are usually great games that I missed at Intercon (either because they filled or conflicted with another LARP I wanted to play) that I can often catch at Festival. (A Mayfair in the Colonies, I’m looking at you! Planning to pounce on it as soon as sign-ups open.)

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

