Here Comes the Spring

I’m still trying to get all of my notes from PreCon and the remaining thoughts on Intercon in some semblance order for posts, but the spring season of LARP seems to have sort of come on full force and caught me off guard.

The first event of the new Cottington Woods is this weekend. I delayed painting my new shield because I was hoping to work outdoors, where the smell of paint would be less likely to bother other people. The weather was much to chilly, so I was hoping for warmer weather… and now I’m rushing to finish in a few days. On the plus side, it is coming out somewhat better than I had expected it would.

I have finished a makeshift shield cover, but I’m also hoping to complete some sort of simple ceremonial robes in under 24 hour (all around the usual frenetic pre-game packing and planning), all in case I get a chance to perform a sword dedication ceremony in game. Here’s hoping.

On top of that, this year’s Festival of the LARPs has opened for sign-ups, and I’ve already gotten my first choice, Mayfair in the Colonies, and signed up for one or two others. It looks like there are still tons of games with plenty of room.

Speaking of Mayfair, it seems unlikely that I’ll be able to finish a full blown colonial era gown before I play (especially if I don’t start until I’m certain of my casting.) I’m currently trying to look into alternatives — nothing out there seems reasonably priced. I could ask about borrowing from a kind fellow LARPer, or try altering costuming I already own to look a bit more appropriate to the era. Or I can just wear something from a different era that won’t clash too much with the aesthetics of the LARP. Or I can bite the bullet and try to sew something, and make sure to have some kind of backup.

On top of that, it looks like there’s a pretty good chance I will be NPCing Masks at RPI, as I can’t make it to the Clockwork Skies one-day event that weekend. Masks is a superhero themed weekend long theater LARP, one of the first I ever played, and also one I’ve NPCed before. I’m not sure if I’ll be portraying any specific characters this time around, but it couldn’t hurt to start gathering whatever capes and boots and masks and tights I might have.

NPCing as Buzz, the bumblebee themed heroine at Masks

Additionally, this past weekend I nearly went to an event in New York City, but instead I ended up staying in the Boston area. It was the final Intercon N meeting, combined with the first Intercon O meeting. (The meeting notes are available online — here are N notes, here are O notes.) On top of reprising my role as raffle coordinator and making posters, I’ve both volunteered for the new position of attendee liaison — an experiment for Intercon O — and was elected to the NEIL board. (NEIL is the organization that runs Intercon.) I’ve also been looking into joining Bid Com, the group that reviews and approves of game bids for Intercon. That all should make for an exciting year.

And after the Intercon meeting, I attended a meeting for staff and NPCs for Shadows of Amun. I think the PCs are in for a wild ride.

About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in Intercon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

