Assorted LARP Media

I still have some posts on Intercon (mostly PreCon) on the back burner. I seem to have gotten a bit sidetracked by describing other LARP projects and events. But I’ve just glanced at my calendar and found, much to my surprised, that I don’t have anything LARP related scheduled for this weekend. I think that’s for the best. I need a bit of a breather to catch up on all the things I want to write about before diving right back in. The next Shadows of Amun event falls on the next weekend, and Festival of the LARPs at Brandeis University is the weekend after that.

In the meantime, a number of pieces of LARP related media has popped up on the internet lately.

  • Some LARPers hosted a google chat panel titled “LARP as Therapy”, and you can watch it here. (I missed the actual chat, but I’ve seen most of the video. Have yet to finish it.)
  • Similarly, a recording of “Gaming as the Other”, a panel about minorities in various forms of geek culture, including LARP, was posted online. It’s not the recording of the panel at PreCon; rather it’s from a different convention (Metatopia 2013). But two of the panelists overlapped with the PreCon panel; as I missed the panel at PreCon, this is the next best thing. I think the biggest takeaway from this panel was the suggestion that people try to step out of their comfort zone more often.
  • This year’s Knutepunkt book, The Cutting Edge of Nordic LARP, is now available for free online. I haven’t yet had a chance to read it, but I plan to soon.
  • A new websites about LARP, LARPs: The Series, has recently come out, and all ten episodes of the first season are available online. Each episode is between three and seven minutes long, and they follow a small group of five LARPers (four players and a GM) as they play through a LARP, along with moments from their real lives that relate in various ways to their hobby. It does have a few cliches — the LARPer who takes things too seriously, the LARPer who doesn’t take things seriously enough, the poor harried GM, but to its credit this is probably the highest quality amateur webseries I’ve ever seen (or is it an indy webseries…?) and it’s among the most neutral, even-handed look at LARPing — neither excessively flattering nor overly critical. You can tell LARPers are on staff with this project, which is really nice, though the style of LARPing that they portray is a very unusual style that has a lot more in common with tabletop roleplaying than most LARP. (I think this choice was probably made primarily to reduce the number of cast and extras required.)
  • And lastly, there’s a LARP convention happening this November in Hamilton, New Zealand. The Medusa LARP convention will feature a variety of LARPs, and you can follow along with updates on their Facebook page.
About Fair Escape

I've been LARPing for years in all different styles, including both boffer and theater. I love classic LARP but I'm always happy to try something new. I have a sort of "gotta catch 'em all" attitude towards experiencing LARPs. I'm currently serve as a board member of NEIL, a member of proposal com for Intercon, the largest all LARP convention in the US, and as en editor for Game Wrap, a publication about the art and craft of LARP. I was also con chair of Festival of the LARPs 2017, and I'm on staff for NELCO, the first all LARP conference in the US. I'm
This entry was posted in media. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Assorted LARP Media

  1. Jon Verrall says:

    Hello! I’m Jon Verrall; I wrote LARPs: The Series. Thanks for posting about us!

    You’re correct that the style of LARP portrayed in the series is something of a hybrid between tabletop and live action. There have been a few LARPs in Montreal that have played in this fashion, so it isn’t completely unheard of, but your assumption’s correct: it was unfeasible for us to portray a larger group based on our resources available for Season One. There are so many different kinds of LARPs out there (Nordic, social Storytelller-based, small-scale, large-scale, the list goes on), and we’d love to explore them in the future if we’re able.

    We’re an independent web series—everyone involved, cast and crew, are professionals in their field. That’s why we’re working hard to secure the funding we need for Season Two: we’re focused on ensuring the series maintains and improves its standard.

    If you have any other questions, I’d be happy to answer!

    • Jon Verrall says:

      (And, funnily enough, yesterday the term “Fair Escape” JUST made it into a script for S2…!)

    • Fair Escape says:

      Oh, wow, thanks for commenting on my blog! I’ve heard of LARPs run in this mixed live-action/table-top style (I think I’ve heard them referred to as “freestyle” or “freeform” or something? though those terms mean a million different things all over the globe. I have yet to try one.
      Your professional backgrounds certainly explains the high quality production values. I’m looking forward to the second season!

  2. elizabethneale says:

    Reblogged this on Elizabeth Neale and commented:
    Many thanks to Fair Escape for giving “LARPs: The Series” a shout-out!

  3. Stephen Kohler says:

    Thanks for the link to the videos, Adina, I really liked them. Nice to see something about larping between “Lightning Bolt” and….actually, just nice to see something different from that style of video. One day I should try more boffer-style games, when I have time. (Ha. Ha ha. Ha ha ha)

  4. idiotsavant23 says:

    “And lastly, there’s a LARP convention happening this November in Hamilton, New Zealand. The Medusa LARP convention will feature a variety of LARPs”

    Its Wellington sibling Hydra, is next weekend. Or there’s Chimera (the oldest spawn of Echidna) in Auckland in August.

    • Fair Escape says:

      Awesome. Are they all about the same, or do they vary a lot in size?

      • idiotsavant23 says:

        Chimera is the biggest, at ~180. Hydra is in its third year and has 60 (smaller local base, and a lot more hassle to get to). Medusa is running for the first time this year, and we’ll see how it does.

  5. Jared Hansen says:

    Thanks for mentioning Medusa LARP convention. As idiotsavant mentions, it is the youngest sibling of 3 such events and yes this year will be our premiere event, hoping for around 40 attendees. You can find out a whole bunch more about larp in New Zealand by visiting the forum page http://www.diatribe.co.nz or http://www.nzlarps.org

Leave a Reply

